The scariest, most unprepared day of my life!

in #baby6 years ago (edited)

Today my life changed forever!

As some of my followers and friends know, my girlfriend has been carrying our first child for almost 31 weeks. Yesterday, we went in to hospital for one of the final health check scans to find our little boy was very small, in fact about 5 weeks behind where he should be. The hospital decided that steroid injections would benefit his lung development should he have to be born prematurely.

We left the hospital 4 hours later after Jades first of two steroid injections, not feeling too concerned about the news we had been given.

Today, I woke up ill, Jade had the hospital at 1.30pm for her second injection but her sister had come to take her as I was feeling 10x worse by lunch time, than when I had woke up.

By 2.30pm I began to think that they had been gone longer than they should when my phone began ring... It was Jade's sister, Sammi. She told me that Oscar (baby) was "being a little buggar and not moving enough" and I had to get down to the hospital ASAP as they were going to deliver Oscar today via an emergency C section.

It didnt set in immediately, I was shocked. Then the panic flooded over me. Not thinking about anything, I jumped in my car with a flat tyre and ran 2 red lights as I sped to the hospital.

I entered the labour suite where Jade was being prepared for surgery. 4 or 5 nurses in the room all around her fitting a catheter and various drips and pads to her. I was so unprepared, mentally and physically, reality still not with me.

Within the next hour we were ready to go into surgery, I had my gown on and this shit really was happening! I suddenly became full of fear. As the surgeon read the risks of the consent forms, my mind began racing, he's coming way too early, what if he dies, what about Jade? A million and one questions scurrying around my head. I wasnt prepared to lose either of them today. Yet I was so unprepared to end the day as a dad!

At 4.07pm on Friday 13th April, my son was delivered by C section and sent away to the neonatal unit for further care. His heart rate was normal but his lungs not ready to go solo. He entered the world silent and I cannot describe the awful feeling of that.

I honestly don't know how Jade has managed to stay so strong today, what started as a check up ended as a birth. She is honestly 10x the person that I am. I've never felt so much pride in my life from how she has dealt with the sudden transfer into surgery to deliver our baby she had carried for almost 31 weeks.

IMG-20180413-WA0027.jpg

5 hours after the birth, we finally got to go and visit our little boy. He is incredibly small, he weighs just 1lb 15oz but he is a little warrior and the nurses say he's doing the best as could be possible. Reality finally hit home, emotions exploding. He is my mini me and my love for that boy came in an instant.

IMG-20180413-WA0028.jpg

We are currently set for being in hospital for a week or so with Jade, and Oscar is looking to be in here for his remaining 9 or 10 weeks until his actual due date. The hospital, nurses, doctors, surgeons and all the staff here at Kings Mill Hospital have been absolutely fantastic, second to none care and they've paid attention to every detail.

I end today thankful, exhausted and a father. I will update as and when I can, but it is likely that I will be posting less over the next week or so as we try to get our baby to catch up with his early arrival.

P.S I apologise for the grammar/spelling mistakes, I wrote this from a chair in the corner of our ward suite, from my phone with blurry eyes. I just had to get this written and off my chest before reality comes and knocks me for another six in morning! I will update with progress if anybody would like know :)

Fingers and toes crossed.

Sort:  

She's strong because she's a good mommy!!! :)

and you are scared - because you're a good daddy!!!

awwwwwww the love i have right now hehehehe I'm so happy for the two of you! I will be saying prayers of thanks for that little boy's life. really little! hehehe sweet little 1 pounder! oh my goodness. my heart is beaming @praada!!!

I'm sending two little gifts your way. One from @buddyup - from all of us :) and of course..... one from the Pirate Captain ;)

hahahaha i hope I send it to the right place - i'll need to check the address again so it doesn't go to your neighbor's place LOL

night - and kiss mom and baby for us!!! and give yourself a hug as well :)

by the way - HE'S GORGEOUS!!!

Thank you ever so much, big love from the uk! Jade is very thankful too, she says you are a saint and she appreciates your kind words. We can't wait to go down to the unit this morning to see his little face again its just hard not being able to hold him yet 😔

Oh he will be so happy to hear your voices!!!! He will recognize you both!!! Start singing a song to him... One that he will recognize every time you come 😊
It will be special to him all his life!
And so soon you will be holding him and then you'll never need to let go!!! 😍 Love to the three of you!!!

Aw man! This is fantastic news!!

Congratulations to you both! Big celebrations in order (when you have had a good nights sleep of course ;)).

Totally elated for you mate, I can't wait to hear how buzzing you are when we speak over in the community. Very happy to hear the news :)

Thank you mate, was scary at first amd horrible not being able to see him but he needs all the help he can get to get his lungs functioning amd developed properly so we kniw hes in the best care and hearing the good news of his first night made the whole experience so much better 😊

Welcome to the world little one! No going down some deserted mine tunnels just yet 😉

Hang in there, mama and papa! Baby will do fine. He is a fighter and they are getting excellent care. Updates when you can. Now it has to be family first.

Sounds like you've got a strong lady and a strong baby. Congratulations and welcome to the joys and fears of parenthood, no turning back now :) Sending some love to you all from down here in New Zealand.

Congratulations to you both, great that you've all had such fabulous care.

Thankyou every body for your kind words. A positive update this morning, Oscar's stats are all normal and stable now. He's just like me and a complete and utter fidget... So he's been given morphine to stop him kicking and trying to pull his monitor pads off.

A little raskal already it seems!

IMG-20180414-WA0008.jpg

Good news! Have you seen these, they might help:
http://octopusforapreemie.com

Oh wow amazing! My mum likes to crochet so i will definitely download her some of the patterns. It's something i will raise at work as well as we support charities and operate a dress down friday where enployees pay £1 to wear casual clothes rather than the formal office wear. Thank you for that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85