Safe Sleep: A Newton Crib Mattress Review

in #baby6 years ago

 

Safe Sleep.

A topic I never thought about before shopping for Olivia's nursery. Who knew all the cute sheets, blankets and accessories were a potential threat to sleeping baby. When Newton Crib Mattress reached out to offer their mattress for review I had just bought a foam mattress for Olivia's crib. I didn't know there were differences. After speaking with the team at Newton I decided to try their mattress out. I was still skeptical about the need for a breathable mattress. Don't babies sleep on their back?

We received the mattress the day before Olivia arrived. So I set it up a few weeks later. First thoughts were how cute the pink cloud cover is and how super lightweight it is. The cover is washable so I don't need to put sheets on it; even the core can be sprayed down in the shower or tub. Once Oliva is a bit bigger the mattress will transition with her to a toddler bed and because it is so easy to maneuver putting sheets on won't be such a pain.

Next, I tried the BREATH to BELIEVE challenge. I picked up the mattress pressed my full face in it and attempted to breathe through the mattress. It worked! I could totally breathe just fine. This is important because while my girl sleeps on her back she tends to move her head to the side and smoosh her face into the mattress. I feel safer knowing she can still breathe easily. As a bonus the Newton Crib mattress is Greenguard Gold certified - showing it is free of chemicals and toxins and has no off-gassing. I didn't think I would be the kind of Mom that is obsessed with everything being organic and chemical free but I totally am!

Olivia still sleeps by my bed in a bassinet at night but during the day I like to put her in the crib for naps. I take all the stuffed animals, the sheets, bumper, quilts all out of the crib and pop her in while I fold her laundry and organizer her room or take a quick nap on the daybed. She loves it. The mattress is pretty comfy-- we tried it out when we unpacked it.

Overall, we love knowing that Olivia is in a safe and comfortable bed. I know in a few more weeks when it is time to transition Olivia to her own room I won't have to worry. Plus, she loves her little crib. A big THANK YOU to Newton Crib Mattress for teaching me about safe sleep, breathable baby mattresses and for sponsoring this post.

 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61733.68
ETH 2481.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63