The lady at the cafe

in #babies7 years ago

It was a typical chaotic morning followed by the school run. I had a nice haircut and then headed over to my favourite cafe to read in peace. Both my babies were in school and playgroup so I actually can sip my coffee and read in peace. Soon after a new mum and her baby came and sat next to me. The mum was whispering sweet nothings to her little one and he was cooing in reply. Not a better sight in this world than a mother cuddling her baby! The pure unadulterated adoration with which the baby was looking at his mum made me long for my babies. The sweet smell of a little baby, those little hands and feet. Sweet little eyes taking everything in. Took me straight back to my days when I would feed my little ones at a cafe and cuddle with them while watching the world go by. It makes my heart break because those days will never come back. But I am so grateful that I was lucky enough to be able to spend every minute of their baby and toddler years with them. I have a treasure of memories and a heart full of love. Now they are grown up and in their own little world of school and friends, but I am always longingly waiting for them to finish their day and come talk non stop to me.

Now as the lady smiles and puts the baby back in his buggy, I see the tiredness in her face and I understand that look which says - it's so hard to live with you but impossible to live without you. I want to tell her to cherish every minute and cuddle her little one as much as possible.. Because you blink and they grow up! And she might soon become that lady at the cafe reading her book and enjoying her coffee in peace, but always missing her babies. And still thinking - it's so hard to live with you but impossible to live without you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68236.23
ETH 2643.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70