Autism Awareness

in #awareness8 years ago (edited)


I would like to take this opportunity to make my first Blog post about something that affects my children's life on a daily basis and also other peoples life's, its something that's is affecting peoples life's on a daily basis and I would like to raise some awareness in the steemit community and also hopefully help people with this blog post in understanding a bit about autism so the next time you see someone having a "meltdown" you might think different towards the person. Its hard for a lot of people to notice that people have autism because they don't have a physical disability and people cant see them as being disabled and think there just a "naughty child" or the "parents aren't good parents" and from my point of view as a parent and carer for my children its something me and my children have to face on a daily basis as I'm sure a lot of people do. It really angers me at times how judgmental people are towards my children and they all jump to the same conclusion "naughty Child" which as I'm sure  a lot of people in the same position as me (parent/carer/teacher/support) will all agree with me that people make there minds up about people without doing the one thing, "talk to me, instead of judging me". So that's why I thought I would do this because I understand that people find it hard to ask questions but find it easier to judge people and one of the things I have to keep repeating to people is. 


“My son’s not naughty – he’s autistic. It’s just that sometimes he gets overwhelmed. The bright lights reflecting on the shopping centre floor. The different music coming from different shops. The smell of the perfumes on every shopper, the wafts of coffee, tea, burgers, chips. Every face, every conversation. Everything, all at once. So if you see someone having a meltdown, don’t judge them – think ‘TMI’ instead. It can make a world of difference to someone like my son.”


If you’re autistic like my children, it means your brain is wired differently. And that can make them see, hear and feel the world in a different way to other people. Sometimes they find everything overwhelming. It’s like all there senses are firing, all at once. They have no filter to block out things going on around them. Like the brains getting a information overload. Sometimes it can mean there skilled in things that other people aren’t. Sometimes it means the things everyone else finds so easy are the most unbearable challenges they could imagine i.e. talking to someone. 

Everyone on the autism spectrum is different. Some find it difficult to tell people what they need, and how they feel. While some find it hard to understand people and how people expect them to behave. It works both ways, though. When I did full time youth work this is some of the things a lovely guy I used to care for with autism and it broke my heart to hear someone saying this, "I feel misunderstood", "I try my hardest every day, but I feel like I always get it wrong" and most of they feelings where because people judged him because he looked "normal", I don't like that word "what is normal since everyone is different"

So if you see someone having a meltdown, don’t judge them – think ‘TMI’ instead, take time, make space and imagine. It can make a world of difference. I will explain more what "TMI" means.


TAKE TIME 

Give the person some time – it can take a while to recover from an information overload. Calmly ask them (or their parent or friend) if they’re OK, but bear in mind they’ll need more time to respond than you might expect. You see, with so much going on around them, autistic people sometimes need more time to process information. So if you ever ask a question and don’t get an answer right away, just wait. It might seem like the meltdown will never end, but it will. So just be patient, and be there.


MAKE SPACE

Try to create a quiet, safe space as best you can. Ask people to move along and not to stare; turn off loud music and turn down bright lights – whatever you can think of to reduce the information overload, try it.


IMAGINE

Imagine feeling so overloaded that you just couldn’t cope. Imagine the difference it would make if someone showed you a little kindness, rather than judging you as a naughty kid having a meltdown, or a ‘weirdo’ flapping their hands.  A little understanding can go a long, long way – just a nod or some words of kindness can really put someone at ease. Finding it hard to imagine? Then find out from autistic people what it really feels like. 


I hope this blog has made people think different the next time you see someone in the shopping mall, out on the street or any where having a meltdown, just remember just because we don't see someone as being disabled physical dose not mean there not and remember "TMI" it will make the world of difference.

I know this isn't about crypto or that but its something that is close to my heart  and something that about 1% of the people in the world  are going through on a daily basis.

Thank you so much for taking your time out to read my blog, from myself and also every person out there affected by autism. If you would like to raise awareness in your local area that would be great too and even supporting parents etc with just listening is a big help to people in my position. :-)

I hope you have a great day/night where ever in the world you are 


ALATAY 

Bryan  

Sort:  

Thank you for this great post. Please share more of your experience and knowledge as almost everyone is somehow connected to Autism.
Just so you know, I will always remember TMI from this day forward.
Much love.

thank you so much for your feedback, its rewarding to me to know that good people like yourself are getting information from my post and I will be posting more experience's over time as well :-) hope you have a great day/night where ever you are in the world my friend :-) and thank you

Excited to see this post since I am a woman blessed with autism and intend to post about the experience myself. New to steemit and glad to see such positive content. And yes, I said "blessed"! We folks on the spectrum have a whole lot to offer the world and enjoy our wacky view of life. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66217.53
ETH 3316.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70