Cabin Crew Cronicles - II - Fear of Flying

in #aviation7 years ago

image

It was a late summer evening flight to some airport in either Italy or Spain. My memory fails me, forgive me, but for the sake of this story that does not really change anything.

Mid-flight my No.1 calls me up and asks if I could step in for him and talk to this one lady, while he resumes his perfume and gift trolley service. I surely did not mind and soon enough got to know, what the problem was – the lady was terrified of flying and was having a panic attack.

Mind you, in all the Cabin Crew training we had, there was nothing of how to talk to or deal with such situations, so I had to wing it. (Disclaimer: all the bad puns ALWAYS intended!) The first, most automatic reaction to hearing that someone is afraid of flying was to say that I understood. But before I managed to utter that I stopped myself, as I realized what an utter lie would that be. In all truth, I had absolutely no idea, how it feels to be terrified of flying.

I did start, by explaining my thoughts in exactly that manner – that I would have wanted to sooth her by saying that I understood, but that I wanted to be absolutely frank and upfront with her and that I have no idea how she is feeling at that momen. But, I said, if she was up for it, I would offer her a mental exercise, to, maybe if just for a moment, take her attention away from the fear.

She readily agreed, having no where else to be and no better thing to do at that moment anyway, so I began with asking her a favour – to try and focus, to the best of her abilities, on just the two of us merely having a conversation. By this, she was already visibly much more relaxed and calmer, knowing that she was not alone and that there was someone offering an actual connection.

I asked her, what was her passion in life, what was that one thing that she couldn't wait to wake up in the morning to do. What made her feel excited and uplifted. Encouraged, she talked for quite a while about the things she loves doing. When she had finished, I asked, if, for the sake of the mental exercise, she could try and recall how that feeling of excitement and inspired action felt and when I was sure, she had a grasp of the feeling I was refering to, I continued and asked, if she now could imagine, that there are people out there, that feel that feeling towards flying.

Seeing the puzzled yet intrigued look in her eyes of a new perspective forming, I said, that in fact, she did not need to imagine such people, as one such person was right in front of her, talking to her at that very moment. I went on describing my feelings of how I absolutely loved aviation and my work. And then asked, her if she could, just for the fun of it, imagine herself in my shoes.

By that time my No.1 asked me to do another service, and having reassured the lady that I won't be able to run away much too far, and if there was anything, to just give a ring and I'll be right there for her, I went off to go about the rest of my duties.

During the remainder of the flight I checked in with her when I could and she reassured that she was ok. But when we landed and I had to be outside the aircraft to marshal passengers, I wanted to catch just a glimpse of her still, just to acknowledge her and to say bye if possible. I didn't even see her yet as she just ran up to me and hugged me.

That was the best experience ever!
This! - I thought to myself – is why I love my work!

Sort:  

Another great tale @josie2214! You beat me to my fear of flying #2 story.

I love those stories!!! Flying is easy, managing the 100 and more numb numb passenger is way more trouble ;)

I guess those are two completely different things and thus it's quite difficult to compare to one another. I would wish to learn to fly myself, but I fear I would not have the kind of attention and quick decision making skills needed for that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84