EZLN: Virgen de Guadalupe

in #autonomy8 years ago


Original artwork by wwworld4us

So, on my last blog post I let y'all inside my artistic talent. I really enjoyed the upvotes and I thought I try it again. Thank you by the way!

Most of pieces tend to have an indigenous, revolutionary, and futuristic theme to it. And I'm going to slowly start unpacking them all.

For the release of my second piece, I painted the Virgin Mary in the (Ejercito Zapatista Liberacion Nacional) uniform.

When I was little, I remember picking up on the Zapatista's Manifesto in 2006. I stumbled upon the doctrine in a sort of serendipitous way. I was really looking to find more information about my parents indigenous background. Sadly I didn't find anything. However, what I did find was a story about revolutionary struggle: amongst the Indigenous Southern communities of Mexico and against the Mexican nationalist. Intrigued by this racial and class strife, I kept reading on, and the birth of my Anarchist self emerged.

Over the years, my support and love for the movement never subsided. I've had dreams and have goals to help them overthrow the corrupt Mexican government, against Globalism; and towards a more autonomous state. Why? Because enough is enough! (YA BASTA):

We are the product of 500 years of struggle: first against slavery, then during the War of Independence against Spain led by insurgents, then to avoid being absorbed by North American imperialism, then to promulgate our constitution and expel the French Empire from our soil, and later the dictatorship of Porfirio Díaz denied us the just application of the Reform Laws, and the people rebelled and leaders like Villa and Zapata emerged, poor people just like us. We have been denied the most elemental preparation so that they can use us as cannon fodder and pillage the wealth of our country. They don't care that we have nothing, absolutely nothing, not even a roof over our heads: no land, no work, no health care, no food, no education. Nor are we able to freely and democratically elect our political representatives, nor is there independence from foreigners, nor is there peace nor justice for ourselves and our children.

I know I will go one day. But for now I'm glad you stopped by. Like I said earlier, im going to keep posting up (mirror copies and originals of my art pieces) Keep Steeming brothers and sisters!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83