Civic Resonator Replacement- BLOG

in #automotive5 years ago

Went out to remove the broken flange from the front exhaust pipe, it's corroded on. Essentially chemically bonded into one piece. Had expected as much, so purchased a hacksaw yesterday.
Welp, I cut through the nut attaching it, but the bolt inside of the nut is made of hardened steel. So hacksaw only made it halfway.
Checked out Home Depot's tool rental program. They have reciprocating saws, but only corded. They do not rent out battery powered tools.
Seeing as it's just over 300 feet from the nearest plug to my car, and I'm unlikely to get it any closer, that turned out to be a no-go.
Tried the oldest and truest method: Ultimate elbow grease and channel locks and locking pliers. Got the bolt to turn, but cannot grip the nut securely enough to make it not turn. So another no-go.
Called my mother. She wants some of the furniture I was leaving behind. She will see if she can borrow my brother's battery powered reciprocating saw if I'll get the fridge and filing cabinet ready for her to pick up today.
So, chilling in the AC waiting on the call back from her now.
As much as it's galded on, I may also have to buy a new front pipe (I don't actually know the name for that one.) I know I can remove that one, as I already have several times when I redid the catalytic converter. But I'd rather not extend everything on even more shipping time. However, I may have little say in the matter.

~Just checked, avoiding front pipe at all costs. Despite being only 18 inches long, compared to the 11 foot long resonator, it costs just as much ($50+), rather try and save the bastard if at all possible.

Sort:  

Congratulations @tenk.trickpony! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 30 posts. Your next target is to reach 40 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56784.71
ETH 2392.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27