Civic Maintenance Log #3- BLOG

in #automotive5 years ago

Exhaust is installed. While the work was a bitch (due to the usual contortionism of such a tight space) it turned out better than I had hoped. The exhaust is snug and firm as hell. There is no movement, it doesn't swing or sway, and even by force I was unable to wiggle it. The new mounting points that I installed myself are much more secure than the old factory ones. And yet, they are still flexible, as I did make some custom stabilizers. But as they are a heavy leather, they take much more force to move. Which means the exhaust can still sway with the momentum of the vehicle, but won't just jiggle at every random flap of a fly's wings like it used to.
The muffler joint (at the rear of the resonator) was weaker than I'd have liked. I will take a second look at it in the sunlight tomorrow. It's dark out now. But it didn't fit inset as I expected it to, but more like a butt joint where two flat ends simply butted into each other. So I'll have to double check the cement of that area, as I did not use a gasket in that spot. If there is a leak due to the cement application over a butt joint, I'll have to run for a gasket and reinstall it again. However that will be much easier as it simply means removing two bolts and then retightening them after sliding the gasket over the front-end pipe in the butt joint.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56784.71
ETH 2392.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27