Advice for someone considering a lease on a truck

in #automotive8 years ago

I never was into the idea of Leasing. Didn't really care to look into it or understand it, I figured owning is always the best way to go, right? A co-worker returned a leased car and went well over the allowed millage, he ended up owing 7K on it. Yeah, not for me! But, everyone has their own reasons for leasing vs buying. We are a single car family at the moment. I drive a company vehicle when I'm working and my wife works part time so we have been just fine with one car. Recently I was entertaining the idea of getting a truck, we just bought our first house so a truck will come in handy. This truck would not be driven everyday. It would be used mainly for making dump runs, shuttling large items and the occasional camping trip. It will be going up into the mountains for 1 week a year. I've been hunting for almost 10 years now and only once have I driven my own vehicle. SO, I guess my question is, with how little I'll be using it, is a lease the better way to go? The other reason I'm thinking about it is, I won't be trading in another vehicle to get this truck, every car we've had so far we've traded in towards something new.

 Are leases on trucks different than those on cars?  I'm not looking for some big monster truck, just something full size, 4 doors and capable of getting up the hill.  I did a little research online and saw the millage allotment somewhere around 15K a year.  I'm sure I would be well under that.  I'm partial to Fords but I'm not stuck on only wanting one either.  I know several other automakers are making some great trucks right now and I'm sure all the dealers have their own incentives and deals for leasing.  Throwing this out there to see what experiences other Steemers have had.  Good and bad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61040.35
ETH 2922.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31