To saloon car owners who say hatchbacks are impractical....

in #automotive6 years ago (edited)

Try pulling this off in your saloon car.

Today is one of those days when I am grateful to be blessed with the flexible storage of a hatchback car. This kitchen appliance simply would not fit in the rear seats or the trunk of a saloon car, even with foldable rear seats. I'd know because my family members had always owned saloon cars, I was the first black sheep who broke the tradition with the Ford Fiesta hatchback, followed by another family member who bought a Mazda CX-3.

I used to have the same misconception that hatchback cars are less practical because of the smaller trunk. I certainly did not buy the Fiesta for it's utilitarian potential, so I was pretty pleased when I found it perfect for my IKEA trips.

Of course, the trunk in saloons are extremely handy as well in different ways. What they lack in flexibility, they make up with it's sheer trunk volume without sacrificing the rear passenger seat. Again, I'd know because I also have one which I've occasionally made full use of.

On a side note, referring to the photo above - the hydraulic strut hinge is one of my favourite features on this generation of the Proton Persona. Unlike the gooseneck hinge typically found in saloons up to twice the price, a hydraulic strut hinge does not intrude into the trunk space. If it had a gooseneck hinge, I would not be able to close the trunk lid after filling up the trunk like above.

The best of both worlds would be a proper SUV or a wagon, both of which I kinda loath especially the wagon. But who knows, I never thought I'd buy a hatchback either.

In the meantime, come and stare at this Ford Fiesta panel van. Yes it is an official Ford product, not a aftermarket modified Fiesta.

(all images below belong to autoexpress.co.uk)



Sort:  

Hahaha good points there about the hatchback - sometimes you just need that extra space.... :)

You'll never know when you need it! thanks for dropping by :)

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

I loved my nissan micra I thought it was the best thing ever. Ever since I've had hatchbacks. All my hatchbacks bave fit 3 people, and a care full of camping equipment including a picnic bench many times! Can't beat a good hatchback!

I know right, you can load cargo with many shape and sizes!

In my case, an SUV or Crossover might be practical for me. Anddd I like wagons

I prefer a proper size SUV like a CRV, not those small jacked up superminis like CX-3 or HRVs.

Up sikit, minibus. Hngghh

top up lagi airbus je

Hnnghh pinjam kereta next time for my IKEA trip 🙈

Somewhere out there, a Neo is waiting for you

Neo tak cukup panjang 🙈

fuh must be planning to install cross bar!

Haha, that is a surprising amount of space in there! I have an SUV personally, which I love. I have to admit, I clicked on here because I have NO idea what a 'saloon car' is!

I still dont... off to Google!

Saloons = sedans lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56949.15
ETH 2401.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33