Sort:  

arguably, it began decades ago, but okay:)

lol^ yup if anything the concept was probably imagined centuries ago, for sure there were people thinking of automation and robotics. I mean we did start thinking about flying machines centuries before we ever got off the ground (other then some weird tower jumping rumours I've found).

Sure. I guess I could have made that more clear :) What begins now is the 4th industrial revolution, where exponential technologies like AI, 3D printing, computers, robotics, nanotechnology, biology and so on will sadly replace many humans with machines. Lots of jobs will disappear, and this time, not only labour intensive jobs but across all sectors including the cognitive jobs. When 60k jobs disappear as the article states, it just shows that the race against the machines has begun.

I don't know if I'd say a race against machines, I'd say a race against time to change the system before a significant amount of jobs disappear and the middle class is essentially wiped from existence leading to anarchy lol. I hear what you're saying though and completely agree, a simple look at like you said 3D printing will reveal a lot of labour intensive structural style jobs don't need to be completed by hand or heavy equipment operators anymore. I see trades like carpentey/framing and things like iron working or welding taking a solid hit in the upcoming decades. Better to be proactive then reactive in my opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57743.27
ETH 3083.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42