Why Are So Many People Against UBI? My First Post

in #automation6 years ago

()

I read something official looking once that stated around 85% of the world's population do not enjoy the work they do. A shocking statistic, I know. Because who doesn't look forward to a lifetime of grueling office and factory work? Who doesn't love being trapped by financial burdens? It's what life is all about!

()

Hi, My name's Nate by the way, and I'm a recovering alcoholic (as of 1/1/2018) with crippling social anxiety. For those of you in the know, this means that the best thing I love about parties is when they get cancelled. Other things I enjoy include; not answering doors, avoiding eye contact and living in abject fear. I also really love tea, but more about that fascinating subject another time.

Anyway. Back to business.

As a person who had to be under the influence to even consider leaving the house to go to work, when I first read about universal basic income, my mind raced into the future, imagining all the possibilities and good it could bring to those of us who are part of that 85%.

I imagined the anti-suicide nets being torn down from Apple factories in third world countries. I imagined the declining rates of poverty in first world countries. I imagined mothers and fathers feeling a great sense of relief knowing their children could be provided a meal that didn't just consist of processed crap. I imagined a world where people were free to pursue their passions and dreams without having to worry where that next paycheck was coming from.

I imagined freedom.

It was then that I started to digest anything and everything UBI related. It filled me a sense of hope that I've never felt before. It seemed the answer to everything; automation, rising population, depression, suicide. It seemed to tick all the boxes.

Yet, there, in every comments section, it was met with both joy and ire. Joy from us paupers, and ire from the not-so-pauper-y.

''FUCKING SCROUNGERS!''

''GET A FUCKING JOB, YOU LAZY CUNTFUCKS!''

How can anyone who isn't a cotton farm owner from the 1800s be against freedom, I thought.

Despite that, I could kind of see it from their perspective. Albeit, in my opinion, a slightly short-sighted perspective. Where I imagined freedom from the slavery of the nine-to-five, they imagined themselves going without in some way. I realised how it might induce fear into people if they thought they would be the ones footing the bill.

But here's the thing: I believe that if done correctly, UBI could benefit everyone, which is one of the main reasons I can't fathom why people are still against it.

Sure, it's going to take people smarter than you or I to devise a system wherein this is possible, but to completely disregard the idea based on preconceived notions seems irrational to me.

Maybe it would require a complete overhaul of the current financial system. I mean, you only need to take a look at the past financial crisis's to know that it needs a complete overhaul anyway. Maybe once we switch over to digital currency, it'll be easier to implement. Who knows? Maybe the blockchain will play an important role.

I guess what I'm trying to say is that just because it's a complex problem, it doesn't mean that it can't be solved to the benefit of all humanity.

Listen to Joe Rogan's take on it. Okay, he's not exactly an expert on the subject, but he's more insightful than people give him credit for. And he's passionate

(

)

There are also a growing number of high profile entrepreneurs that not only endorse UBI, but see it as an inevitability once the rise of automation is factored in (Elon Musk, being my favourite). And if there's anyone smarter than you or I who I would put my trust in, it'd be someone with the mind of Elon Musk.

I realise that I've barely scratched the surface on this topic, but over the next while, I'm going to be exploring and sharing more thoughts and opinions on UBI as I believe it's one of the most important challenges that currently exist for humanity

What do you think?

Sort:  

Yeah, I'm with you. I don't understand how so many can be so quick to want to crush people when helping people makes this a healthier society, benefiting everybody. While UBI is a step in the right direction I think Richard Wolff has some interesting critical thoughts on the idea:

Hey, thanks for sharing that. I can see where he's coming from too. It definitely needs to be handled with care, but I'm sure it's something that can be worked out. There's more ways people can contribute to society than working a menial job. A cut in working hours would definitely be a good start though!

I dig it! Thanks for writing about this.

"The Matrix is a system, Neo. That system is our enemy. But when you're inside, you look around, what do you see? Businessmen, teachers, lawyers, carpenters. The very minds of the people we are trying to save....You have to understand, most of these people are not ready to be unplugged. And many of them are so inured, so hopelessly dependent on the system, that they will fight to protect it.” Morpheus

hey, thanks for reading. Perfect quote by the way

Congratulations @highzenherb! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61354.39
ETH 3309.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47