Is it all Superficial?

in #automation8 years ago

Greetings for the day!
There is one question which keeps crawling in my skin, by the end of the day. is this all superficial? is this the purpose of life? what is it exactly? what are we running for, after all?
Now, you may be wondering why such thoughts and anxiety! Well, I think it's because I have worked in different verticles in my life. One thing I know for sure is, that I have a spirit of an artist. I made peace with this notion recently. I have just joined an IT company, this is my first IT company. I am entitled here on a position of Research Analyst and Content Writer. When I joined this company, I was handed over with three hot topics which possibly every IT company is talking about. Blockchain, Bitcoin and Automation.
Yes! such interesting ones, disrupting technologies. I read and read about these everyday. Somewhat 20-25 articles, research papers and what not. I even started dreaming about automation. Even though, I have been known to many as a writer. I couldn't do justice to my articles.
My company is heavily relying on automation, they think it is going to be the next big thing. It is so very fascinating for them. But for some reason, I am not!
I am not taking the side that I am against it, I very much like the idea that I will be free from this monotonous routine.
Wait a second! let's just rewind a little to my background. It may help you understand my struggle.
So, I started my career as an artist, I sketch and paint. The first paid project that I delivered was when I was 20 yrs old. No! I am not saying I am 'very' good at it. assume as an average artist. Few changes in life led me to join Police force. I still painted many canvases on weekend and drew the sense of peace out of it. I served for three and half years in police force. the job made me realise the importance of my family and others. But felt stuck, I wanted speed and hence I quit that job.
Fas forward- MBA- A 6 months trip to Europe- Internship and finally this IT company.
So automation today! We are heading towards it and if you are in an IT firm that you are heading really fast. What troubles me is the basic purpose that we have as human is forgotten, I think.
I think I am not ready for automation. Yes! it would solve a lot of issues like cost cutting and all. But somehow, I still like writing letters, I would still like to paint with my own hands, drive my car, cook for myself with my own hands. If unwell, would like comforting touch of doctors or nurse. I am also very much fascinated about the idea of having a virtual assistant with artificial intelligence. The movie 'Her' is one movie that I get really drawn to.
Perhaps, instead of automating all the processes, we should be more focused about striking a balance.
I will continue this later, thank you for reading it so far :)
Good day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62102.31
ETH 2432.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67