What CHILDREN with AUTISM taught me in Real Life? @PUNNU- EXPLORING THEIR WORLD

in #autism7 years ago (edited)

I Purnima Murad, have worked with Alibaba UC Web (India). I am Journalism student, Marketer, Photographer and Blogger by profession. Before joining Alibaba, I was working with Rangam (a New Jersey based company offering Technology and Staffing Solutions) where I got a chance to meet special needs children at a private school in Baroda, back in 2015.

slide-5 (1).jpg

Image Source: http://www.disha.org/

When I entered the school, I was totally awestruck to the scene. It was completely opposite to my expectations. I felt I was inside any random play school where kids were following and singing rhymes loudly, were playing and trying to socialize with one another. They have started accepting one another. There was a sheer sparkle of joy in their eyes. I believe it is that sparkle that makes them different from the rest of the world. Their tiny hands which they used to shake in the air while singing rhymes and their beautiful smiles had filled my heart with hopes instantly.

After the session, I conversed with the lady in charge. She told me that, “they have lot many things in common which they do just like normal children. Few show incredible ability to grasp any sentence; few are very good when it comes to repeating things like any activity which they are taught. Few are good at expressions. I think they are learning fast. I think we should love them and have patience with them.” Her words have made me hopeful for a better future for them.

Another incidence I would like to share is of a gym in Chandigarh (India). One day I saw a father along with his Autistic teenage boy at the registration desk in my gym. The next day after registering themselves, the boy was following almost every instruction which the trainer wants him to. He was much more enthusiastic than any of us in that 20 minutes aerobic session. Even we got all energized and pushed ourselves as we watched him in the mirror. That young boy did really well!

More than one in 68 American children suffer from Autism as stated by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). All we need is to accept them the way they are in the society and start loving them for who they are. They have ability to perform well whatever thing they are into. In different parts of the world there are still cases where they are mistreated or abused. We have to just build confidence in them and they are ready to shine. Let me take few examples of people who have done exceptionally well in their fields in spite of autism:
• Daryl Hannah
• Dan Aykroyd
• Heather Kuzmich
• Dan Harmon
• Alexis Wineman
• Temple Grandin
• James Durbin
• Tim Burton
• Marty Balin
• Lewis Carroll
Source: https://www.babble.com/entertainment/famous-people-with-autism-2/

They have incredible hunger to learn. In many cases they have been noticed with good focus and concentration to small details. After seeing these real life examples, they have taught me to focus as much as I can. They can be really good in typing or editing roles in companies specially those who have knowledge of computer.

Rangam Infotech Pvt. Ltd. is doing a great job in developing technology like online apps specifically designed for Autism for nurturing their cognitive and reasoning skills and creating jobs for special needs adults to accommodate in the active work force and thereby build the econnomy strong.

Please NOTE: The above blog is based on my personal views. This blog has been published after leaving Rangam company so it is based on the personal observations i gained while working with the company.

If you like the blog, UPVOTE and FOLLOW @PUNNU

Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.95
ETH 2389.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34