Fine motor skill development: ABC Sand!!!

in #autism7 years ago

So I am very excited as I sit here writing today’s post. This afternoon I sat down with Master 5 like I do everyday to do some fine motor skill therapy and we made a breakthrough!!!

20E3361C-32F8-4337-9257-F4CD0207CE97.jpeg

Master 5 knows his alphabet. In just one week!!! Last Tuesday after therapy I was discussing his session with his teacher at school and we were both commenting on his inability to retain information. He was unable to recognise his letters let alone any words.

2C8FBECB-E341-4288-921A-807C4012E514.jpeg

She mentioned that we would have to focus on that this year so that he does not fall any further behind. Now I know that children all learn at a different pace, but we have been working on his alphabet non stop for 6 months now with no results.

95AFE951-7718-405A-99BD-23C0A64040B2.jpeg

So you can imagine my surprise when I pulled out this afternoons activity and he began to sing an alphabet song I had not heard before. Now I have been singing him the traditional ABC, won’t you come and sing with me? song for ages with no success, he wouldn’t even sing along.

88131C21-93D1-44A4-85C9-F3D9124EA0AA.jpeg

This song focuses on the sound that each letter makes, for eg: E E E eggs in the pan! Hard to explain in writing. But he sat their singing his little song and even picking up the corresponding letter as he went. I nearly fell of my chair. Although when I said the letter correctly instead of the sound he didn’t know which one I was talking about, but he knows the sound. This is huge.

I was so excited. After talking about his song for a little bit, I realised he does not know all of the alphabet sounds but he has at least 15 of them. I plan on visiting with his teacher tomorrow and getting a copy of the song so we can play it at home and practice until he has them all down.

E34EC2CC-94C8-43E9-AD47-.jpeg

We then got down to the activity at hand. I picked this pack up at my local Kmart in the yellow sticker section and it cost a massive $2. Best bargain ever. It incorporated everything my boy needed to practise this week. It contains four little tubs of extra hard magic sand, 26 letter moulds and an activity tray.

9BDF2F8E-A886-439E-9CCA-CA990B354A0F.jpeg

2BA24831-0284-4B15-8ED0-5D4FF50E99D8.jpeg

1B05B02F-F330-4245-BC3A-1C653B47A037.jpeg

The children have to fill each letter mould by gently pinching tiny bits of the sand and filling the inside. This is actually quit difficult. If you put to much in it causes an air pocket and the letter won’t come out properly formed, they just collapse. So you have to fill them very carefully and slowly which is fantastic for fine motor development.

This sand is also extra hard making he process that much more difficult. Master 5 did struggle to fill his moulds correctly but after a few attempts he finally got the hang of it and was very excited when he made the letter L so well that he was able to stand it up on its own without it collapsing.

DC267101-B3AA-4603-9E2A-7B9DE87C75D7.jpeg

9332FB80-8B38-4D38-A466-C39334F2AF66.jpeg

This year we are meant to be focusing on five minute therapy activities but this seemed to be going so well that we stuck at it for a while. In he end Master 5 made five letters all up, although he did have to make some of them a couple of times before they maintained their shape.

AB570E4F-EACE-4884-BC50-E24FB8EE2E26.jpeg

E8C3BA9B-2E3C-4362-AA01-A78626AC16F3.jpeg

B2432346-B2C3-4361-8083-3606EF391E94.jpeg

Miss 3 and Miss 1 also got into the ABC Sand magic this afternoon. Miss 3 dominated this activity. She has excellent fine motor skills and only needed help to get her letters to pop out of their moulds. She had a great time and even made a word.

398EF80F-0B52-46E1-837B-7783EA87AE33.jpeg

CAAE2F5C-B8B7-4D4A-9763-312C3E8B120F.jpeg

Miss 1 did not understand he activity at all but she had a great time playing with the magic sand and building up her own fine motor skills. She loved squishing it through her fingers and burying the letter that I had given her. I tried to help her so she could make one letter however she smashed it as a soon as it came out of the mould lol. Typical, her way or no way.

27BC9907-09ED-44FE-9E40-B55DC32891C7.jpeg

57C24B50-E449-4672-BF6C-A7A579719E79.jpeg

They loved this activity and i promised that if they could manage to keep the sand on their trays that they could play it again tomorrow. This is an activity I would normally do outside however due to the heat that’s just not possible here at the moment. They all managed to make minimal mess, mainly I think because the sand was so firm it was quite difficult to pull apart.

AD66FBD0-9358-49A8-839E-D0661898C9EE.jpeg

This activity combines everything we have been working on at the moment, fine motor skill development, the alphabet and patience. It was fun and very easy to engage all the children, not to mention how low cost it was.

As always I love your feedback and any fine motor skill development idea that you have and would like to share please do so in the comments.

Thanks for reading.

@mumofmany.

Sort:  

Great job @mumofmany! I homeschooled my kids for years and taught them to read by focusing on the letter sounds, instead of the letter "name." I believe Ruth Beechick writes about this... I know it wasn't my original idea. It worked well. Sand, play dough, are always such great learning tools. So happy for your success!

Thank you,
I never would have thought to use the sound rather than the letter but it is working wonders!

YASS!!! Success!!! Well done Master 5! And well done to you Mum. Did you manage to get a copy of the new ABC song?

When you mentioned there was a different song I was like, Whaaa?? But this one sounds special. Would love to hear it.

Not yet, we were late today because of therapy but I’m going to hunt it down this afternoon!

Congratulations on the breakthrough! It's nice to know
that sometimes it's just trialing a different method and that different things work for different kids 😊

Thank you,
Yes, all it took was a different song and it has somehow made him able to remember. It’s amazing.

Congratulations on this breakthrough!! It's from hearing about how others do so well that give me hope that Little Man will be able to sing along with this song too. I might not have used sand inside, but I have got play dough and will take it from there. It's great that you Have Miss three working with it already!! I'm finding song is one of the best ways to break through barriers! :)

Music had always had a huge impact on Master 5, but it turns out you just have to find the right song. I had been singing the song I new for months and yet one week with a different song and he has made a huge leap, it’s crazy, it’s all about finding the key.

Really good to hear of your breakthrough, especially after the tough period.

I used to love that alphabet song when I aas little...sausages sizling .. S S S😃

Thank you, it was a brilliant moment, I have been so concerned that he was never going to retain enough to stay in mainstream school so this is huge!!
Love the little sausage sizzling, that so cute!

Wooohooo! Can't believe Master 5 remembers some alphabet... Do me a favour a go over it again with him in the morning, just to be sure LOL . Give him extra big hugs from Nana.

I think we will be going over it hundreds of times once I learn the song. I think Master 5’s teacher will be gettting an extra special teachers gift this year!!!

Congratulations @mumofmany! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Following you @mumofmany i have quite a few connections on fb in the autism field. Dr Bradstreet had some great work watched a few of he's talks. I also have a 4yr old daughter. Nice meeting you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49