Sensory Sock

in #autism7 years ago (edited)

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

My son turned 5 in August. He has been diagnosed on the Autism Spectrum. In our house we believe that Autism is a set of symptoms that those afflicted can recover from. Before he was even diagnosed, I can recall memories of him pushing into me with his arms and legs, from the moment he awoke. Recently in OT (occupational therapy), we tried a body sock. It provides proprioceptive input. That means that it sends "feel good" signals to the brain. When kiddos on the spectrum push into you, grind their teeth, use chewies, or jump on a trampoline, that is the type of input they are seeking. It worked so well that we decided to purchase one for the house. I ordered one from Amazon that also has a lip at the top that allows for a cover over the head. Even I have those days where I just want to hide under the hood of my sweatshirt. I imagine the cozy feeling is quite similar for any kiddo wearing this. My son loves it. Before we bought this, on bad days, I would sometimes push on his legs and arms to provide compression to his joints. The body sock allows him to provide the joint compression independently. When this arrived, I was a little unimpressed. It looks just like a pillow case. If you can get your hands on stretchy/spandex material and are handy with a sewing machine, this definitely looks do-able. I am not and I found the price on Amazon to be reasonable for the amount of joy it brings to our family! There are a few sizes and styles to choose from. My son is approximately 40 lbs and 44 inches tall. We found that the small works perfectly for us. He comes home daily and asks for it. So excited to have found an item that we can add to our tool box. If you think that this may work for someone you care about, it's worth a shot.

Sort:  

Congratulations @momof3! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @momof3! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84