You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This is the kind of sh*t that makes me hate some people.

in #autism6 years ago

Full support to you! People's ignorance is annoying... and highly frustrating especially when you are doing all that you can to teach your children right. I too have two children with autism, my 2nd son and my daughter who is the youngest.

I recall when we were in the early stages with my son, life was a nightmare, he was very out of control even though we tried our best, people would always judge where ever we were and it got to the point where we just stopped going out anywhere because it was easier. School was always hard as I feel like you are judged there even more. You're always seen as the "bad parent", the parent with an out of control kid, like you let them run wild and take no care when all you do is the complete opposite. I ended up pulling back from friends and from people.

Yes our kids are different, yes they have extra needs, yes they see the world differently, yes they struggle with every day normal tasks, yes they can have melt downs... but they're people too with feelings and emotions as are we as their parents. But are kids are up against it even more and they don't even understand their emotions.

Parents like "that" infuriate me to no end. If only they knew... but imagine if one of our special children ended up with parents like them, we are blessed that we have the heart, the patience, the openness and the will to learn and understand.

My son is now 17. He is on the low learning end of the spectrum. He was recently granted a disability support pension because of his needs and his low IQ. He was so low in fact that he fell into the intellectually impaired range. After receiving those results I went and had him tested for Intellectual Impairment as he could have received even more support at school. He passed... even though his IQ is really low, he passed and do you know what the examiner said to me? She told me that I have done too good of a job with him... even though he is oblivious in society and never has an idea of what's going on around him, we have taught him enough skills to not stand out and to fly under the radar... That was the best compliment ever... that we had done too good of a job!

So good on you for standing up for your son, good on you for going back and good on you for trying to educate others but sadly ignorance is a choice.

fe1e73dd673597785a578cceacb40efa.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51