You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Autism Spectrum is a Behavioral Meme, Not a Mental Disability

in #autism7 years ago

I work with kids on the spectrum, and they bring me such joy. My agency focuses on ABA therapy, and I've had a lot of success using it with non-verbal kids who are learning to be verbal. Thanks for the post, autism awareness is always great.

Sort:  

So you are saying that this is a behavioral training issue that can be manipulated given enough time resources.

Yes that's basically what ABA is

so you admit that this is entirely a behavioral thing that probably started from the child's environment aka family

I was not very talkative either and couldn't hear or talk well until high school & college. I probably have autism. Different kinds of people learn & do things differently. I went on to be a camp counselor for five years. My life is an example of the hope they can have. Was born 1985 in Oregon and now I'm teaching in Vietnam. IT does take more patient to work with some kids but it is totally worth it.

probably not

I agree! Patience is key, and never giving up on a child even if they do pose some challenges

My uncle has autism but found love in music, he was able to get a job a record store and alphabetized the entire shore his first week there

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55629.86
ETH 2914.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28