New insight as to why it’s so hard for someone with autism to make eye contact. By: Joe Keeler

in #autism6 years ago (edited)

autism.jpg
Research tells us that people with Autism struggle with eye contact for a number of reasons. The first one being that because of the over-abundance of information our minds receive visually, which is ten times greater than the “normal” mind, we have problems focusing on auditory information. And this over-abundance of visual info then causes many with Autism to look away in order to concentrate on what the person is saying. This is true. I find myself looking away a lot when others are speaking just simply so I can focus on what they’re saying. However, the other major reason research gives as to why people with Autism lack eye contact is that they feel socially awkward. And that this awkwardness then leads to insecurity which causes the person with Autism to look away. Well let me tell you right now that couldn’t be further from the truth! People with Autism are the most confident people in the world. We’re like little babies running around the living room naked. We don’t care what you think about us! And this ability to not give a F--K is why some research says that we lack empathy as well, which also couldn’t be further from the truth. Not caring what you think about me has nothing to do with me caring about you. You see, the reality is that people with Autism perceive ten times more insecurity in others than they do us. Yup! Sorry to be the one to break this to you. But this is a very painful thing to live with. Whenever I go to the mall or Wal-Mart seems like all I see is a broken world. Tons of people just walking around with bad posture and holding they’re heads down. I see the elderly in physical pain from some ailment or just old age.
article-2589695-1C93250600000578-198_634x401.jpg
Other’s are angry or depressed, living with regrets.

Seeing these things is extremely hard on someone with Autism. You see the truth is we actually have an over-abundance of empathy. So much so that most of us will never be able to communicate it. I’m seriously struggling with this BLOG at this very moment! Now I know in the past I have mentioned that people with Autism have Facial Expression Dyslexia. So yes I’m aware that maybe we’re misinterpreting what we see, but the point is that our lack of eye contact isn’t from our insecurity, but rather from the insecurity we perceive in the rest of the world. Sounds wild I know, but it’s the truth. We actually feel so sorry for the rest of the world that we can barely stand to look at it. So next time your child has a meltdown when you’re out in public, though I agree that it's influenced mostly by over-stimulation due to bright lights, loud sounds or breaking routine, don’t forget to consider the fact that they see a world that’s ten times sadder than yours. Jean Claude Van Damm I’m a good! (Joe Keeler bows) If you have Autism/Asperger’s or know someone that does please follow me along this journey as I try my best to give insight into the world and the mind of Autism. Plus, don’t forget to UPVOTE, SUBSCRIBE and also to check out my group on FACEBOOK: AUTISM BAD ASSES..."We don't look back at explosions. We have them!" This is Aspie Joe. Thank you and God bless.

Sort:  

Hi everyone! Hope you enjoy this one. Please feel free to comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59398.61
ETH 2510.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43