You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Larry McMurtry has Written More Than 20 Novels and They All Started in the Same Place

in #authors6 years ago

A man that depended on an indoor cookstove would miss the sunrise, and if he missed the sunrise in Lonesome Dove, he would have to wait a long stretch of heat and dust before he got to see anything so pretty.

I've never ready any of his work or seen any of the movies. I'm guessing that has something to do with my age.

The line above caught my eye because I too live in a pretty barren landscape. Maybe that is also why we seem to be blessed with some of the best sunrises and sunsets I have ever seen and I've lived in many parts of the world.

I tell people all the time I miss the greenery that I grew up around in South Carolina. Reading this reminded me to appreciate the uniqueness of what the Arizona desert has to offer even if its not ideal.

Sort:  

You appreciate the beauty even more, I think. There's a starkness to arid and desert landscapes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.95
ETH 2389.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34