Boycotting the Australian Census 2016

in #australian8 years ago

This year's Australian census is not anonymous. In the past it was, but there has been a move since the last census (or the one prior) to remove the anonymity. This time the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) will store the name and address associated with the data on each form for up to four years. I have also heard that statistics for census data will be kept over a lifetime. I'm not sure which it is, but I know what they're up to. My info is none of their business.

I am angry about this move. I don't want my personal data stored on some government database, subject to hacking or to government/ corporate misuse. I have falsely filled out my census in the past even with the anonymity there, because my personal information is MINE and I should be free to give that to whomever I wish.

Tomorrow night is census night. I intend to boycott. I could get fined for every day I refuse to comply. I am led to understand that fines for doing this - if given out - are not generally very high. I could falsely fill out the form, but I actually want to get the message across that I don't support this move. I hope other Australians will join me and boycott this piece of rubbish.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59653.51
ETH 2353.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47