Australia's Unique and Interesting Animals Are Not ALL Wanting To Kill You..BUT Some Are - Series Introduction

in #australia8 years ago (edited)

Following on from my recent post introducing the Cassowary, I thought I'd start a series about some interesting and in many cases endangered native Australian animals.  I will make a donation to a wildlife charity equivalent to the combines SBD / Steem rewards I receive for these posts, so I hope to get some Whales supporting me.

Introduction

I was born in Australia and spent countless hours exploring the bush ( I live on the East coast just North of Brisbane). I love that our wildlife is different than most of that found on the other continents as Australia is an island nation. 

Image source

It has been isolated from other continents for many millions of years and this is why we have so many unusual species that are only found here. Most of our indigenous land based furry animals are Marsupials, a type of mammal that feeds their babies milk but the have a pouch, in which their babies do most of the development which a placental mammal does before it is born.

Image Source

We also have the only 2 Monotremes

Image Credit : By Stefan Kraft - Selbst fotografiert am 20.9.2004 im Sydney Aquarium

the Platypus 

and

Image Source 

the Echidna See this Video of an Echidna (I dont know why it wont insert and play here) https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/d/dd/French_Island_Echidna.ogg 

They look and live completely different lives but are the only animals on the planet that lay an egg , hatch it in a pouch and then feed the baby on milk secretions.

Conclusion

I will create a series of posts about some of wonderful Australian wildlife over the next couple of weeks. I have previously posted Part 1, the Cassowary was which was the inspiration for this series as a way to help me support Rainforest Rescue  and I was able to make a AUD$25 donation toward saving the Daintree Rainforest from my Steemit post reward. 

Some of the animals I will shine the spotlight on will include the Koala , Emu , Kangaroo and of course the Tasmanian Devil. 

If you have an Australian animal you'd like to know more about please let me know in the comments below.

 twitter.com/steve_somers 

Please Follow Me on Steemit 

Sources and Links

https://steemit.com/life/@stephen-somers/most-australian-animals-want-to-kill-you-but-we-still-need-to-save-them-and-their-habitat

http://www.australia.com/en/facts/australias-animals.html

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marsupial

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monotreme


Sort:  

Platypus is by far the strangest animal anywhere.

It's a warm blooded mammal, lives mostly in water, lays eggs and is the only animal breast feeds milk through sweat glands and just looks awesome.

I heard a tales about this platypus.
Someone thought it was a joke. They tried to find how this curious animal have a flat beak. Hmm, someone glued a beak on this poor creature, decided to take it off. Curiousity did actually kill this animal.

The Echidna does that too , except the live in water part

that sounds like mexican food. hahaha im gonna have to google that one. ^^

oh. its like a hedge hog. super cool i want one.

Aussie here, Platypus <3 furry duck.

Aussie animals <3 people should check out the Tawny-Frog Mouth. it not dangerous, just very funny, look it up you will see.

Thank You for your comments, I hope to get the Koala post finished over the next couple of Days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46