You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Kokoda Trail - The journey begins: Part two

in #australia7 years ago

That sounds pretty intense. I kind of want to go on it but not sure I'd be able to cope with that level of emotion.

And I'm not a professional guide but if i know the terrain I'd be walking behind on that hill to make sure people don't fall. Rainforest floor can be slippery and trip hazard as you know XD

Thanks for sharing!

Sort:  

Hey @ryivhnn, yeah it's intense and is a stress on the body but it's the mind that you really have to work. One doesn't see other people for hours on end so you have to dig deep to keep moving. The guides generally are not there either. You only really see them when you reach a point where the Trail is difficult to follow, to make sure trekkers don't get lost. It's quite a solitary journey.

Body stress and loneliness I can do no worries. It's that emotional/mental strain you were talking about. I'm the kind of person that starts getting headaches if I stay too long inside a worship centre or cemetary so I imagine being on that trail where so many people were so stressed out and exhausted and fearing for their lives every second when they weren't killing or being killed would probably reduce me to a blubbering mess.

It sounds pretty incredible though, I'm sure there's so much that can be learned from it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51