Blog Interrupted By Government Policy

in #australia7 years ago

There will be a slight interruption on my blog as I'm moving from Australia to Japan in less than 48 hours. It's not a long story, but the nutshell version is that our anti-immigrant government hasn't processed my new visa (I've been waiting since May 2017), my landlady increased my already-extremely-high rent by 18.5%, I'm disinclined to being exploited and no other landlord will rent to someone who's on a bridging visa (because of the obvious risk).

After 5 years of working together with Australians to try and help make this country better than it's ever been and without having fired up a proper bbq this summer, I'm heading north to snowy Tokyo.

I loved living in Melbourne - truly deserving of the title "most liveable city in the World" - and miss it already. Of course I do, I've been living in Sydney for over two years now. I won't miss Sydney - Melbourne is best!

The good news is that I get to take my job with me. I'm not a betting man, but I bet that the government didn't think of that when coming up with their policies.

Also, do kangaroo's really have no butt-hole? What the....!

Sort:  

Bahahaha. I'm glad you were able to get a solution. The move should be fun and interesting. I'm sure this community will be excited to watch and support. Cheers!

I’m back online, which is all the excitement I need.

I feel you there.

Sorry to hear about your moving away from a place you love. So how do kangaroos get rid if their waste? Lol. Joy

Sounds like the Australian government is no better than the USA when it comes to processing important papers in a timely fashion, I wish you well in Tokyo. Any plans to return to Australia if the papers come through?

We’ve booked a place in Tokyo for one month. We might go to Thailand for three months afterwards. Beyond that, we aren’t sure what options will make sense for us. My 3.5 year old needs to start pre-school somewhere.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Penston from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49