You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Being Nice: how racism thrives in the polite society of rural Australia

Thank you. I appreciate this feedback. I don't think I'm particularly special. Most of the trip I was ashamed by my silence. When I did speak up it was nothing profound. It was a beginning. Lots more work to be done.

Sort:  

I have been silent too. Sometimes it just happens so fast or you don't realise you should have said something till later. I think sometimes just understanding it's wrong is plenty ;) I remember when we were kids the police would search my aboriginal friend and not myself as I was white. I never spoke up and just stood while people walked passed judging my friend. It was upsetting for him as he felt humiliated, it was in his local suburb where people knew him. luckily my friend was able to move on and forget about it.

I think that is very true. I often realise afterward that I should have said something. But I also think Australian culture trains us to be that way. That whole politeness thing. It creates a very passive aggressive society.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62589.43
ETH 2437.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65