Buzzing Bondi Beach

in #australia6 years ago


Bondi Beach, Sydney Cityscape


So in my opinion cityscapes don't get much better looking than this. 😊

It's not the usual view most people would expect of Sydney, that being one containing the Harbour Bridge or the Opera House, but Bondi Beach is also a part of the city and offers an equally beautiful view I think.

I took these photographs at the end of the Coogee to Bondi walk which is 6 Km of stunning views, beaches, parks, cliffs, bays and rock pools.

No doubt for some of you lucky Steemians this is a walk you can take whenever you feel like it.

For us it was a real treat, as was our whole trip to Australia a few years ago. I hope to be able to go back sometime.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Enjoying The View

Byron Bay.JPG

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Closer to Bondi

Byron Bay 2.JPG

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Arrival At The beach

Byron Bay Beach.JPG


Thank you to @juliank and @photocontests for this daily photography contest.

Sort:  

I don't know if it's high on my priority list for places to go just because of the distance and the time it would take to get there, but if there is a place I might want to spend 19 hours getting to, Australia is probably it. And your photographs make that part of Sydney look great. :) You're right, though, mostly we get to see the Opera House and the bridge and so forth, so that's why the view of your top and middle images are a great change of pace.

Australia was never high on my list to be hones @glenalbrethsen. It was a bit of a fluke we ended up there but now, having been, I would like to return. However, it's an even longer journey for us. You can't really go any further so it's not something to be easily arranged.

Same old, same old. If only John could retire early and all that. Oh and Steem go up so we would have the spare cash, of course. 😂

Okay, so ending up in Australia as a fluke sounds like there's an interesting story attached to it. Especially since it takes longer to get there for you then it does for me.

I mean, I doubt you accidentally bought tickets to Australia, wanting to go to, say Austria, and somehow they mixed up the flights, without you wondering why it would take so long to get there and why so expensive. :)

It seems like there's always someone's retirement in the way in order to do what we want to do. It's amazing how the need to work to have the resources to do something is always battling with the time to do those things. :)

Well maybe fluke wasn't the right word @glenalbrethsen.

Basically, one Christmas, after rather a lot of wine, my brother and sister-in-law mentioned that they were going to Australia for Christmas the following year. That's sounds great says I. Why don't you come too they say. OK says I. Then promptly forgot all about it.

Then in January my son said, you'd better get a move on booking our flights for next Christmas before they sell out. To which I replied. Are you serious? Do you really want to do? He did and he showed me the best dates before the prices got stupid high.

So I went ahead and booked. I think my brother and sister-in-law were surprised as I was that I actually did so.

In the end we didn't spend much time with them anyway but we had a wonderful trip. 😂

Well, there you go! There was a story, and a pretty good one. Although it sounds like drinking wine and decision making might not mix, but if you had a good time, I don't know what to say, since it all worked out.

Even if it sounds like you might not have followed through had your son not wanted to go as much as he did. So, I guess if you're going to make plans "after rather a lot of wine" it sounds like your son will need to want to follow through with the plan in order for it to happen, thus ending in a wonderful time. :)

I guess if you're going to make plans "after rather a lot of wine" it sounds like your son will need to want to follow through with the plan in order for it to happen, thus ending in a wonderful time. :)

Sounds like a good conclusion to me @glenalbrethsen. although it's not much of a president to be honest, as it only happened once, that I can remember. 😊

I liked Coogee beach but Bondi was amazing. Reminded me of a typical British seaside town architecturally and the fusion restaurants were brilliant. Lovely photo's Gillian.

Thanks @molometer. They are lovely momories too. Did you visit on a holiday?

Unfortunately not. It was a trip to help out a family member with a medical issue. Didn't get to see that much of Sydney. Maybe i'll get back there someday?

Oh. That's a shame @molometer. it's a log way to go and not be able to have a good look around.

As you say, hopefully you'll get back there someday. 😊

Nice beach .. it looks like lots are enjoying it.

Yeah. It's a very popular, and famous, one @rentmoney. Lots of surfers. 😁

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-26T19:12:48
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2210.09/3200.00
Total Photos: 273
Total comments: 328
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 2.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

howdy @gillianpearce say this is a gorgeous area, hope I can make to Australia someday, cool photos!

Thank you @janton. It really is a gorgeous area. I loved my trip to Australia. 😊

you are so welcome! do you travel on business or for pleasure, have you been to the U.S.?

I travel for pleasure @janton and lived in the States for a couple of years. I've also visited many times for trainings, seminars and holidays.

thank you @gillianpearce but now I'm curious about what type of business you had trainings for, these trainings and seminars were in the States?

My oldest son spent a summer in Sydney. His dream is still to live on that beach. I particularly like the photo with the houses on the hill #2. Maybe just because thats where I would want to live.

I think you'd need a good few pennies to live on that hill @steven-patrick. 😂

My son was also pretty keen to return and maybe live there. At the moment he's busy doing an apprenticeship so he'll finish that and then work for a while I imagine.

I quite like it if he went off the idea though. You can't get any further away from here than Australia. He hasn't mentioned it for a couple of years and I'm not going to bring it up! 😁

My son's college is on East Coast. He has been in San Francisco close to home all summer. It is very nice. Got to enjoy it while he is here. You know they will eventually leave the nest.

Yeah. My son left last year but he's planning on coming back when he finishes his apprenticeship. I've actually got quite used to the quiet and order. 😁

He's home temporarily for a 6 week stint and already parts of the house look like a bomb has hit it! 😂


Awesome Work!

I've verified that your photography is original, and that means it's so good that I had to check.

Your post has just been upvoted and resteemed by @yourluckyphotos - The nonprofit service that verifies and promotes original photographers on Steem.


Your photography will be featured in Today's Lucky Photos showcase, alongside numerous other photographs. Tag your posts with yourluckyphotos to increase your odds of being featured.


Amazing! The water off Australia's beaches always look so good... Lovely shots, Gillian! :)

Thank you @ackhoo. I should have given you the links to the industrial ones I was referring to. They're probably not easy to find without a lot of trawling! 😂

Never mind. There will be more.

Thank you for visiting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74