Kokoda Trail - The war, my trek and reflections: Part One

in #australia7 years ago

COURAGE ENDURANCE MATESHIP SACRIFICE

My 2007 Kokoda Trail experience and how it changed my life.

Australian War Memorial - Battlefield Isurava, Kokoda Trail, Papua New Guinea

A brief outline of the campaign.

In 1942 during the Second World War a series of battles were fought in Papua New Guinea between Japanese Imperial forces and Allied forces. Japan required resources to continue their war effort, readily available from the resource-rich continent of Australia. The route? Through the jungle over the Owen Stanley Range to Port Morseby and then the Australian mainland.

Link to Owen Stanley Range: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Owen_Stanley_Range

About 13,500 Japanese troops landed and approximately 3,500 defenders marched to meet them. Owers Corner to Kokoda is approximately 96km depending on changes in the track due to flooding and terrain changes. The Allies, mainly Australians, marched up to Kokoda to meet the enemy, conducted a fighting retreat back almost to Owers Corner and then back up the track pushing back and finally defeating the Japanese.

Source: pacificwar.org.au

It was a brutal campaign against an expert jungle fighter, a fanatical, brave and vicious enemy who took the fight to the Australians as never before. The troops, on both sides inflicted and received grievous wounds, dealt death and destruction and struggled to survive in the dense, virtually impenetrable jungles against all odds.

The first troops sent to the village of Kokoda to meet the enemy were Militia, raw conscripts and volunteers peppered with the odd aging veteran to stiffen-up the ranks. Rejects and conscripts, the medically unfit. Those not wanted for the regular army. The AIF (Australian Imperial Force) regular soldiers were deployed to other theatres (Middle East) so this was the best the Government could muster. The AIF called them chocolate soldiers because they knew the Militia would melt in the heat of battle. It was not a compliment.

Still of the 39th Battalion taken from the movie Kokoda (2006)
Source: static.thecia.com.au

The real 39th Battalion receiving commendation from their Commander after the battle of Isurava below.
Source: upload.wikimedia.org

Movie trailer - Kokoda (2006)

The battle began at Kokoda where scouts from B Company 39th Infantry Battalion made contact, were almost overrun and executed a fighting retreat. From there the Australians were slowly forced back towards Owers Corner suffering and inflicting hundreds of casualties and enduring unimaginable hardships and suffering. Eventually, and due mainly to the Japanese having stretched their supply lines too far the Australians began to push back against an extremely unfit and ailing force. They pushed to Kokoda, Buna and Gona and eventually ultimate victory. The Aussies, now joined by a contingent of Americans had prevailed, albeit at immense cost. Known as the Kokoda Campaign the men who fought and returned and those who had not would live in our memories and the history of this great country.

My desire to explore and understand Australian war history and the respect I have for those who serve has led me to many Australian battlefields. In 2007 I had an intense desire to visit the battlefield in Papua New Guinea. To walk in the footsteps of hero’s like Private Bruce Steel Kingsbury VC (Victoria Cross), Captain Samuel Victor Templeton and Corporal Charlie McCallum DCM (Distinguished Conduct Medal).

Captain Sam Templeton (On left) 1940-July 26th 1942 (The first Australian killed in the campaign)
Source: sunshinecoastdaily.com.au

November 5th 2007 was my step-off date. After a few months of planning and gearing up I was to tackle the now infamous Kokoda Trail. Bullets wouldn’t fly, bombs wouldn’t explode but the Trail holds dangers to trekkers nonetheless. It was to change my life positively. Through hardship, reflection and contemplation I emerged a different person. A better person.

Below is an image of me on November 11th 2007 (Remembrance Day) and my last day on the Trail before heading down to Kokoda behind me. The words on the granite blocks define the spirit of the Aussie Diggers (troops)

Courage Endurance Mateship Sacrifice

In my next post I’ll relate my experiences and some more personal stories about life on the Trail in 1942 and 2007. I urge you to investigate this piece of Australian history and learn about the sacrifices made. I cannot tell the story in a few short posts, nor am I the best person to do so even if I had the time. I hope only to share some experiences and photos from my own journey and draw attention to this part of Australian history.

Further reading: Kokoda (Peter Fitzsimons) Available in print and audiobook.

Thank you for reading my post.

G.

Sort:  

Informative read Galen. Lest we forget. (Resteemed) SK.

Why thank you SK, much appreciated. I have so much to say about the war in PNG but it would take too long hence the links and book reference. I also want to talk about my own experiences which will be hard. Finding the words I mean. I'll give it a go though.

I'm passionate about our war history and Australia obviously so look forward to sharing more. I've been to the Western Front in France/Belgium also so will write and share that too.

Thanks so much for the Resteem.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48