Into the Forest - Climbing the Gloucester Tree - Pemberton, Western Australia - Not for the Fainthearted

in #australia7 years ago (edited)

At 61 meters up to the lookout, the Gloucester Tree in Pemberton is the world's second tallest fire-lookout tree, behind the nearby Dave Evans Bicentennial Tree (75m tall), and is one of only 3 lookout trees still climbable by tourists.

Built in 1947, the Gloucester tree was one of 8 Karri trees in the region made easier to climb so they could be used as lookouts for fires. Construction of the lookout consisted of driving 153 large metal pikes into the tree to form a spiral staircase, and a wooden cabin at the top which would be the lookout. In 1973 the wooden cabin was demolished and replaced with a steel and aluminium cabin and visitors' gallery.

The tree was first tested by Jack Watson, climbing up the tree with boots and a belt. It took him 6 hours to climb due to the 7.3m girth of the tree, and having to work his way around branches from 39 meters up.


On one of our trips down through the Southwest of Western Australia, we stopped by to have a look at the tree. The weather wasn't great, but I decided to grab my camera and have a go at climbing the tree. The first thing you a greeted with is a warning trying to convince you not to climb it...

It was no easy task negotiating the climb and getting around other visitors who were on their way down. With just the metal spikes as stairs, and a very flimsy wire fence around you, one bad slip could see you tumbling down to the forest floor. There were no safety harnesses, nets or anything else to grab hold of. There were just the spikes.


While I was climbing I stopped for a short rest, and to get a few photos of the forest from a perspective you don't always get. The view from about halfway up the tree was quite incredible. The forest floor below, the canopy of branches and leave above, and the woody tree trunks straight ahead.





When I got near the first platform, almost at the top of the tree, I took these photos, looking straight down. DIZZY!!!


I finally made it to the first platform, and had another look down.

When it was my turn (only 2 persons allowed up in the top lookout at a time), I climbed the remaining few stairs to the upper lookout. I was 61 meters up in the air, and this was the view.

After spending a few minutes catching my breath and taking some photos, I started my descent. It was difficult going, even harder than the climb up, as you had to keep looking down to make sure you got each foot firmly on the next spike below and didn't slip. Taking the 153 steps down was a real challenge, and when I finally made it to the ground my legs felt like jelly.

Would I do it again?

You Bet I would!!


_bmj_teamaustralia_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

sneaky-ninja-two-swords-story-sneaky-ninja-thealliance-steem-steemitcomics small.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack!!
You have been defended with a 4.76 % upvote!
To help keep my Jōki (蒸気) power strong I rely on the townspeople of Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア).
I was summoned by: @bmj.
I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh

Great post!! I was there almost 15 years ago living in Perth, and climbed that very same tree - I think.

Had totally forgotten about it - have to go and dig out old pictures now!

Cheers

Thanks mate. That's awesome! Glad you liked it, and it brought back some memories - hopefully good ones😁

For sure, many good memories.
Had a great time living out there!

Cheers

damn, that escalated quickly. LOL.
If I had to do that kind of climb I reckon I would have wigged right out.
Your braver than I!

I quite enjoyed it. But yeah 80% of people who start turn back before halfway. It can be quite scary to some I suppose.

great pictures and a nice view from up there.i dont know how many times i went there 3-5 times but never went up there...not my cup of tea...i prefer the walking tracks on the ground....

Thanks mate! I was the only one in my family to try. The rest preferred to stay down and feed the birds.

that would be me too on the ground ...feeding the birds...lol...
good on yer mate...

Wow that's impressive good thing your not afraid of heights.

Oh, it was a bit scary at times, but was worth it to be able to take in the view at the top and to say I've done it

REALLY great to see your photographs Brett.

It's been one of the biggest brags of my life to say: I've climbed the Gloucester Tree. Took about an hour to psyche myself up to climb it. But once started there was no going back. The scariest bit for me was actually being inside the hut at the top as it was swaying in the wind so much. Climbing down was a breeze after that experience. 🦋

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bmj from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Each picture has its own story. If we could read from them, we would be much smarter.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 1.32 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @bmj. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64197.36
ETH 3181.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49