You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "BEING AUSTRALIAN" - What It Means To Me. (As An Individual)

in #aussietakeover7 years ago (edited)

Pride that comes only from devotion and dedication to stand for something. That makes you a great Aussie, mate..(see even this ol dog can learn!)..but it also what allowed this world to become what it is - a place that less people are willing to stand for

There are plenty of folks in my country (USA) that want a voice, but refuse to use their legs - what I mean is the refuse to stand for anything "real". That is not just my observation here, but also along my travels as well. It seems that people all over the globe want to 'demand' democracy while sitting down - on their ass - expecting it to arrive gift-wrapped, on their lap.

I have to say that I have met many humans, from all over the planet, that stand for Liberty. They do that in a way that is genuine and true - taking freedom from one to give to another is not furthering Liberty, nor is it what some consider 'Patriotism'. Impeding upon the path of another is not Liberty at all. So, why are so many willingly sitting in the aisle?

Because we are ignorant. At some point pride was mistaken for prejudice and law has somehow been confused with morality.

I say: it is a beautiful thing to take pride in where you are from, what you believe, and being part of something that makes you feel good as it does the same for others around you.

Maybe that's why we face the problems in this world that we do? Pride=shame and people would rather leave behind their problems behind them - moving on to the next best place. Maybe if the world had more people that gave half a shit about their surroundings (their home!) and the people that they share it with - maybe....just maybe... People would'nt have to flee difficult circumstances in their home country as often.. Since when does running away from problems solve them?

I love that you shared so much in this - I'm learning and equally entertained. I busted a seam watching the 'Thong of Duty' vid 😆

Mate, you may not consider yourself a great writer, but you had me all the way through this one! I can only hope my nation can wake up to what is important and stand. Far too many willing to kneel and even more that can't get off their ass. Glad to surround myself with more people who know better. I commend all of you that stand to keep your country what you wish it to be. I'm in a place where people all over the world actually wish & dream about it going to the shitter and watch in hope today is the day. Unaware to many of those fools, there are way too many people willing to wade in shit and willing to stand until we're eyebrows deep.. We are here and we aren't running anywhere.

Morning read complete! Thank you, Jack. Hard to substantiate a short reply if you read any of this!! I know I couldn't. Feel like I know a lot more about you, mate. Time to hit the heavy bag now my blood is moving. ✌😎

Sort:  

Got the adrenaline thumping!

Here's one that got our hearts pumping in OIF, back in 2003 and 2004.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54610.81
ETH 2293.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35