Extremely Helpful Resources for Audio Engineers & Producers

in #audio6 years ago

10.jpg

Back In School

Last year I officially made the plunge back into the world of higher education. I've been majoring in Digital Music Technology, which covers everything from sound-designing synths to recording and mixing in a larger-scale studio. I've been inside a lot of larger studios but never had a full grasp on what all the hardware was really doing. Finally, I've been given that opportunity.

This summer, while taken online classes unrelated to my major, I've still done my best to stay up on some podcasts and links that would keep me learning so my brain stays fresh when Fall Semester kicks in. A few weeks ago I came across a podcast and a couple links that I thought would be good to share with other producers, engineers and music nerds. Here's what I got:

header.jpg

Sine Language Podcast

This podcast dives deep into every aspect of audio engineering I'm personally aware of, plus many that I'm not yet. From gain staging and EQs to Mic Pres and compressors, this is a great podcast to ride around listening to. Check them out HERE.

)

Audio Hardware Digital Emulators

One of the Sine Language episodes on compressors offered me a really interesting link. The link below offers the digital plug-in equivalent of every major piece of physical hardware created: from compressors to EQs, limiters, tape delays, synths and reverbs. This is a really handly link to bookmark and go back to for reference if you're really trying to emulate a specific piece of gear but can't afford the gear itself. Check the link out HERE

all-green.jpg

Compressor Families

Lastly, I came across this article via the Sine Language Podcast as well. It goes great in conjunction with the link I just dropped above. This article organizes compressors into specific families and explains in-depth as to what makes that family of compressors unique. It explains exactly what's happening in the guts of each type of compressor. I recommend reading this first. It gives examples of each type of compressor. Then, you can visit the emulator link above and see which of your digital plug-in compressors belong in each family. This gives you a great idea of exactly what's happening inside each of your plug-ins that differ from the other compressor plug-ins.

READ HERE

SoundRzn Logo 2014  Alt FINAL.png

Stay Tuned

I'll be back with more of these links as I find them. For now enjoy.
For anyone with questions, you can hit me at [email protected].
You can visit my portfolio of work (audio & visual) at www.soundrzn.com
Lastly, catch up on some of my in-depth project breakdowns HERE and HERE and follow our squad at @definitionmusic. I'll be back with another in-depth project breakdown later this week.

Sort:  

Just seeing that I hyperlinked the wrong article on the last section dealing w/ compressor families. Here's the correct link: http://quantum-music.ca/wordpress/index.php/2015/07/29/vca-opto-vari-mu-fet-compressors-when-to-use-which/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36