You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who listens to the classics? Musings on audio-books.

in #audio-books7 years ago

This is basically conjecture (having never actually listened to an audio book) but my gut feeling is it wouldn't work well for me. I really plug myself into the written word when reading and can block out everything else very easily - not sure I could do the same and give it the same attention if listening, for some reason. I have a tendency to space off while listening, which is terrible I know, but true.

Definitely some food for thought here though, you ask a lot of good questions :) I am not so sure that there has to be a writer in you before you start to write - I absolutely believe this is a skill and craft that can be learned and honed. I would definitely agree, though, that there has to be a reader in you before you start to write.

Much love - Carl

Sort:  

Lovely to hear your thoughts! I've heard your gut feeling expressed before (also by someone who never even tried....). I don't think audio-books can ever replace the original, but they might add to it (or possibly in some cases, with a bad performance, detract from it!). For me, they are "handy tools" to cram in more reading (which already sounds disrespectful, I agree!). But once you get into it (training up your grounding powers in the here and now! for it takes some discipline to becomes a good listener) it starts to lead a life of its own. It's a niche thing, maybe.

I sometimes wish the writers out there would read more classics, though, for the chatty, cinematographic (bloggy!?) style they seem to be copying from eachother (reading eachother?) is becoming a drag.

I hope you're reading something good (for you!)

Yes, today I read a really lovely author :) Named @sukhasanasister <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59112.75
ETH 2519.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47