Deaf and Audio Editing

in #audacity6 years ago


geralt / Pixabay

Needless to say, it's quite different, rather I should say next to impossible. This comes up on account that every so often I get asked how I manage to edit audio in some of my content, and the truth of the matter is, I export the audio and open it up in Audacity and the first 20 seconds of the audio is without any speech allowing me to select a sample to remove background noise, at least as much as I reasonable can.

I'm sure it probably picks up noise from my computer's fan, maybe the air conditioner as well, I'm not entirely certain. However selecting at least 10 seconds of that blank space as an audio profile then using audacity's noise removal tool allows me to crisp my audio. From there I can better see where I speak and the misc filler words that I say. Filler words are commonly by themselves surrounded by blank space.

This allows me to cut the audio of filler words, background noise and further I can increase the gain or compress the audio, usually I compress the audio since compression was recommended to me before by a couple audiophiles.

Then for background music I browse through various audio based websites that are free to use and royalty free, some artists requiring attribution while others simply don't care or release in public domain or creative commons. For me to figure out what will work is relying on the base I have in my conduction headset. Best way I can describe it to someone with functional hearing is that I just kinda feel the music out primarily more than actually listening to the tones. I also rely heavily on the artist or comments to describe the music accurately for its theme in regards to what the audio sounds like. This helps me find the tune for the genre I'm after.

I import the new audio for background music into audacity as a new track and I decrease it's gain until it's peaks are roughly 15-20% of my vocals and repeat the tract as needed on the same track until it's at the end of the vocals and snip off the remainder of the music to fit the timescale.

From there I can export the audio as an MP3 and save the file for Audacity. Typically I then also send the file to someone willing or interested in listening to it to give me critique on if the music doesn't fit, music is wrong genre, music is obviously looping or if there's any other misc changes that need to be made to the file and I edit it accordingly.

The ones that generally don't have too much a problem with reviewing my audio files are internet DJ's that want fresh new content they can use on their internet radio stations. So giving them permission to broadcast the audio on their radio station gives me free critiques and suggestions for improvement as well as additional potential exposure to new audiences.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://cryptodeaf.cloudaccess.host/2018/08/deaf-and-audio-editing/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49