Popped into the auction house today.

in #auctions5 years ago

It was a hectic Monday and I squeezed in a flying visit to a car auction this morning just to see what is happening price wise in the market. Flying as I was in and out within 20 minutes but got some good indicators.
FT98NJGP.jpg
source
Not what I am looking for but it just shows you never know what they might have.

I will need a double cab van very soon so I can work and help with deliveries at the same time. Not quite ready for it yet though so no harm in just window shopping. The best time to go to an auction is in the middle of the month for obvious reasons. Less people and less money around which helps with more bargains.

I studied this a few years ago whilst my daughter was doing Chinese lessons down the road from another auction house. I wanted to know the best time to buy and what the savings would be. I learnt over a 6 month period the week before then of the month is best as the prices were slightly lower.

I went to various auction houses and finally found one that suited my pocket better. The others are mainly for the dealers and the prices were about 20 percent higher than this one that I had found. The amount of dealers present is very small and the chances of snapping up a bargain are way better.

This particular auction house has various motor cars from different sources and the ones I am particular interested in are the bank repossessions. These are normally fairly new and the late models which still have the manufacturers warranty and service plans as part of the deal. I don't want something that is going to be an issue mechanically and the auction lists anything that is wrong so you are fully aware.
isuzu-kb-300-d-teq-lx-d-cab-2015-id-60528391-type-main.jpg
source
This is more practical and will retail for $20 000 and will expect to pay around $10/11 000 instead.

The prices are averaging about 60 percent of book value which is rather good. I will give you a prime example so you can see why it is best to look at this route before buying from a dealer. A late model car mat be worth $40 000 on a dealership floor,but the book value is only $30 000 and then at auction you only pay between 60 and 65 % on average of the book value. In this case the car would be around half price with all the admin fees and taxes included. I would only expect to pay around $20 000 then for this car and no more.

The more expensive cars have less interest from the buyers at this particular auction as I don't think they have deep pockets and are just looking for quick flips or a bargain for themselves. I would say anything under $6000 is where they all are so I would be buying for around double that and getting a bargain at the same time. A car under $6000 doesn't interest me as I know it will be a lot older with more miles on the clock and no service plan and manufacturers warranty.
2018-isuzu-kb-561489-34985.jpg
source
I need something that will carry stock as well so this would be sufficient for now.

I will never buy a new car ever again as the depreciation is too big. A new car loses around 30 percent as soon as you drive it out the door. One of these cars I can get back what I paid for it 2 years later so it is the smartest way of buying in my opinion. I had this happen with my last car which I had for over 3 years.

Luckily I know what car I want and will bide my time now and keep my eyes peeled for one to pop up. I won't touch a Ford and Volkswagen ever due to their problems over the last few years so it will either be Toyota or Isuzu. Boring I know, but reliability is what I want. The auction houses have their own internal financial services so they can offer you payment terms in house.

Sort:  

There was a new cargo van for sale down the road from me just the other day. I think the guy bought about five of them for his business and then realized he only needed 4. Too bad you weren't closer...

Congratulations @cryptoandcoffee! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cryptoand coffee from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 7.56% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @cryptoandcoffee! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Howdy sir cryptoandcoffee! Great strategy and plan. It looks like Isuzu is big over there. I assume they have a reputation of reliability like Toyota does?

They are fairly big, but not many Toyotas come to the auctions and i wanted something different. I have driven Toyota's for years and I won't touch Ford so Isuzu is the obvious one next. I just don't trust Ford and don't want to get stuck with a lemon if they have to recall at any time.

Yeah I get it and you can't go wrong with either Toyota or Isuzu, it's a great plan!
We've driven a Toyota for years, most dependable car we've ever had.

carsmartotal.com
Buy chinese cars,Buy chinese electric cars, japanese cars ,korea cars online from China,carsmartotal.com exports electric car ,SUV, Sedan, mini Truck,pickup,cargo van,delivery van,4x4 SUV,FWD suv,RWD suv,hatchback

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46