So much memorabilia - shooting competitions galore!

in #auction8 years ago (edited)

                                         

Yesterday I shared how weird it was to buy other people's vintage photos. My husband and I buy and re-sell items obtained at auctions, and I have noticed how very often a person's lifetime achievements end up as a box or a couple of boxes at a deceased estate auction. A couple of weeks ago I attended one such auction. The auctioneer had told me that the children of the deceased had taken everything they wanted from the home, and the rest of the contents would be auctioned.

Belt buckles - all unused

                     

          

                                   

Assorted badges and stickers


The deceased, known locally as Oom (Uncle) Hans, had clearly been an avid shooting enthusiast and a policeman. There was a large quantity of shooting memorabilia and also certificates. Early this year, a local metal scrapyard dealer had come to me with an extremely heavy box of medals and shooting achievement awards in various competitions, which I bought. I realise now these were from the same person who died a little while ago.

                                         

                                         

                                         

                                         

                                         

                                         

Just a few of the shooting awards that came from the scrapyard. I bought them at the end of January and I still haven't listed them all!


Another thing that I find strange is how collectible these sort of things are, even if they are inscribed or engraved with the name of the original owner. Many of the shooting medals, obtained in numerous provincial competitions, found their way to customers overseas. As always, it makes me happy that these achievements, although no longer appreciated by the original owner, or his family, have found new homes. And have not been crushed into scrap metal!

                                   

The certificates.

                                 

                           

            

                     

                                               

                                        

                 

                                              

Thank you for reading! Please follow me @onetree

PS all that shooting resulted in a LOT of spent cartridges! And of course I have a couple of boxes of those too!

                                 

Sort:  

Thank Heavens The Scrap Guy brought it to you instead of smelting them. Can't believe that descendants would have no interest in their Family History and Heritage!

Actually, the ones the scrap guy brought me were taken to him by the owner himself! But I do see it a LOT, family regard the past as junk.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65792.18
ETH 2695.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90