Auction Finds - Interesting Books (2)

in #auction7 years ago

In my earlier post today I described the ins and outs of book selling on my online auction site, and shared a few of my recent listings. When my husband and I attend auctions, we literally buy thousands of books throughout the year, and all these books need to be sorted. Initial sorting is done by my husband. It must be determined which books should be checked if they are valuable enough to sell online, or if they should go to the shop. Many books are not suitable for the shop, as many titles will never sell, and we return these books to another auction. It is my job to check the books for their suitability to sell online. I love ABE Books, they are an invaluable resource for checking the value of a book. Occasionally I can be spotted peeping out through towers of books that need to be checked!!!

Autographed South African Rugby books. These types of books have rapidly declined in value over the years since the 1995 Rugby World Cup.

The category Africana books spans a very wide variety of books. I am a seller from South Africa, and Africana books are good sellers here. They are also popular among those of us who have emigrated to other countries.

I would like to make an additional little note on checking books bought in bulk, whether it is from an auction or a private sale. Each and every book needs to be paged through. We have found letters, documents, photos and stamps stored inside old books, and some could be valuable for re-sale. This year we had a case where my husband found around R5000 ($366) in cash that was stored in various books sold in an estate sale auction.

@onetree

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50