Am I being too hard on my son? 🤔🤔🤔

in #attitude7 years ago (edited)

Hey friends,

My teenager son is looking to buy his first car to go to school and his part time job at the martial art studio...

We told him long time ago there are no free rides in our home...

So he's been saving to buy his own car while doing his research on internet about prices etc...

We will help him as much as he wants to help himself, so we are going to pay 50%.

He will have to cover all the expenses after he gets his car...

It's not about the money, but about the principal...

I think by teaching him young how to hustle for what he wants, he will start from the bottom and be able to climb in life.

Am I being to hard or fair enough with him?

What do you think?

IMG_4726.JPG

Animated signature .gif

Sort:  

lulita - I am with you 100%. I have a 22 year old and we took the the same attitude throughout his teens and I think it has paid off. If you keep giving them everything they will never learn how to be an independent adult and become accustomed to having everything handed to them. Stick with your instincts.

Yes, I'm looking for his long term independence...

I definitely say fair. Not too many kids know the value of a dollar now a days. It is a good life lesson. Nice thinking! :)

Thank you. He is wise with his money... Every paycheck he gets he distributes into 3 categories: investing, saving and spending.

Smart man! You have learned him well! Lol.

He has this habit created already, so I think he will do well in the future...

Definitely going to agree with you on that! Maybe he'll be rich and he can take care of you some day. Lol.

Good. You'll have a.... sugar son?? Lol

Coming from a 16 year old that was given a car I would say that this is fair. My parents bought me a car (or you can say gave me a car) and that does not allow me to learn how much work and effort it wouldve been to get my car. BUT since I buy silver and spend most of my money on silver my mom thought that I should use my money to buy silver and save for my future instead of buying a car that I can use during High School.

Thanks. He buys silver too with his investing money.

You're definitely being fair and what a great life lesson!

I also believe you are fair, spoiled kids do not do well in life when left alone.

I think like that too.

You are not only being fair, you are doing what good parents do. My son is 14 and I'm teaching him to save up for and hustle for what he needs/wants too.

The earlier they start, the better habits they will create...

Fair and better to make mistakes at that age then huge costly ones when he is out on his own these are times of learning. I would also recommend showing the importance of sticking money away form each paycheck that is never touched till you retire. Trust me when he can retire at the age of 45 or 40 instead of 62 hes going to be much happier then some new car speakers in his new car lol just my two cents :D

He is onto that already... Every paycheck he gets, he allocates different % into 3 categories: Investing, saving and spending.

That is awesome! he is going to thank you for that when he is older trust me I wish my parents would have beat it into me instead of me finding out later :D

Me too. LOL

I'm not a parent but when I was younger buying my first car my parents did something similar. Only difference being what they paid I paid them back for. I always imagined that when/if I have children I would do much the same. As you said its about learning responsibility. As long as your son knows the why of it I don't think you're being too hard on him at all. But that's just my 2 cents from a non parent.

Thank you. I appreciate sharing your experience.

The more her works for the thing he has the more he will appreciate them. I'm 20 year old with a passion for cycling and I've bough my bikes with the money I've worked for, an attitude of gratitude is the way to go. He's lucky for the 50% help! :)

He didn't know about the 50% help until recently, so he is super pumped because his car is closer than he expected...

Agreed, I did the 50/50 with my oldest and even do similar on gas money. If it is for driving to school, I pitch in. If it is out with friends driving, that's on her dime.

Gas money is all on him as well as maintenance etc
He can have anything he wants as long as he can afford it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60950.68
ETH 2607.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65