Are We Not Paying Attention and Just Skimming In Life

in #attention5 years ago

Hey Fellow Jessanthians

Lend me your eyes and ears and for fuck's sake pay attention for once! The internet has overloaded our brains with access to the information and our brains are not properly designed to handle this overstimulation.

As a result, people are skimming details and then using their minds to fill in the rest because like I've said before if people are able to get away with it once, they're going to keep doing it until they get burned.

Content skimming is a problem that affects publishers and traditional social media sites where revenue is tied to how many times the page is loaded and ads are served while engagement is measured by algorithms based on the volume of likes and comments, not quality.

We see it on steemit too, even I am guilty of it. Commenting without reading the full context of the article or post. We can quickly pick up who are basically comment mining and those generic comments have been dealt with in some of the most savage ways by myself and other steemians, sometimes to hilarious effect.

CSR_article_fig2_Capturing-Audience-Attention-in-a-Skimming-Culture.png

image source: - review.content-science.com

Start sweating the details

As the saying goes the devil is in the details and I think you need to get closer to the devil, play devils advocate and start sweating your double chin all over the details. The details are what make for great content, the details are what flesh out the story or the argument, the details are the whole damn point of any content.

Ignoring the details is the reason why we have so many arguments IRL and online, maybe if you took the time to read, understand or even ask about what you don't understand before triggering yourself into an opinion frenzy you might just get somewhere. You might just appreciate the time taken to go into detail and you might learn that 5 extra minutes of attention can save you from yourself and ruining your day by letting yourself be triggered by a situation you built up in your own head.

A little story to illustrate

A while back I was waiting outside a friend's flat for her to come out so we could go out. I was parked outside the building and had my phone in my hand clearly visible looking around for her and texting her without a response. While I was waiting and looking around a young lady decided to open the passenger side of my car and get in and I was like WTF are you doing? I don't know you? Are you hurt or in trouble and she's like no I thought you're my Uber driver?

I'm like you can see on the app what an Uber driver looks like, his name and the vehicle registration, like seriously you don't just go getting into peoples cars.

She apologized and walked off embarrassed but that's what happens when you don't look at the damn details and im not even talking about 1000 world article its 3 damn lines of detail that could land you in trouble, what if I was a psycho and you just got into my car, hello jackpot. Why do I have to stalk my victims if they're just walking into traps with their faces fixated on a phone?

For people who spend so much time looking at that screen, we pay very little attention to what actually goes on and is displayed across the pixels.

So what do you think? Half arsed answers will be ignored!

Have your say

Holla at me in the comments! All my commenters I will now refer to as Jessie. Jessie is a good friend of mine, but Jessies got a girl, and I want to make her mine.

So have at it my Jessies! If you don't have something to comment, simply comment "I am a Jessie."

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Buy & sell STEEMDonate LikeCoin For FreeGet A STEEM account
blocktrades.jpgLikecoinsteemninja.jpg
Sort:  

Mobile devices seem to be causing people to have short attention spans. I have definitely commented without fully grasping a post's content before. When we skim or read on any electronic device screen such as a smart phone, computer, tv, and so on, we apparently don't use as much of our brain to understand the content we are absorbing. We only use the seeing part when we skim/read using electronic devices unless there is sound. The reading part of our brain gets activated only when we look at words on paper or another physical medium that has words on it.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think if everyone just took the extra 5 minutes to read there would be so much less outrage online, it's crazy how far people will argue their point without having much of the facts, they just let a headline and emotions run away with them and until they get burned they never learn

I didn't know about that activation of the brain thing, could you drop me a few links? Id like to actually read about these studies lol, yeah man I like to read!

That's new! I didn't know about it 👀

Is there a TL;DR version? Hehe.. :D

Lol, that's actually a good idea, I'll start adding one at the bottom of my posts and see if it takes off :P I doubt many people read posts in their entirety anymore anyway.

Hello @chekohler! My native language is not English, so I find it hard to understand, at first, the meaning of "skim": Did he talk about milk? 👀

Maybe he has a farm and he liked to milk cows...

Anyway, I guess you mean people don't pay much attention to what they read. And how are they going to do it? if they are surely doing thousands of things at the same time.

Here the drivers drive looking at their cell phones. Once I saw one claiming to another that he had crossed his path and he still stuck to his cell phone, without noticing that he was the one who committed the infraction.

So, we are becoming into Skimmers, a new lazy society, hehehe

That's how we do it in the J-Squad! 😄

Well, you seem to understand my posts just fine, I think we all speak a bit of Jesslish and that transcends language barriers. what is your native tongue?

Exactly, like why would you put your life in danger to also not effectively read a message or content, it makes zero sense. We are a bunch of lazy skimmers and schemers all trying to get away with things and move through life by doing the least amount of work in anything we do.

While it's not a bad thing in some cases it can breed innovation but in most cases, it's a recipe for disaster

lol J-squad represent!

what is your native tongue?

Spanish.

While it's not a bad thing in some cases it can breed innovation but in most cases, it's a recipe for disaster

That's I didn't understand... Breed innovation? the skimming thing?

I am a Jessie 😁 (Isn't Jessie a girl name? 👀)

Oh I agree 100% with this. The digital overload of information has made us develop this weird habit of skimming on almost everything. It is such a dangerous habit when I think about it.

I agree it has shaped our behaviour in such a weird way and we simply accept that is the way it is. I believe that reading has a big effect on the brain and you should read online and offline. It helps you get new ideas, new perspectives and improve your vocabulary so you can communicate better. This skimming large amounts of content just creates the illusion that you consuming content, since we all want to pretend to be "busy"

This skimming large amounts of content just creates the illusion that you consuming content, since we all want to pretend to be "busy"

So right here.

Congratulations @chekohler! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi, @chekohler!

You just got a 5.15% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

thank you so much @vibesforlife and @helpiecake for taking a bite out of my post, I really appreciate it!

Hi @chekohler!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.208 which ranks you at #2800 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 34 places in the last three days (old rank 2766).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 242 contributions, your post is ranked at #70.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85