Awakening

in #atomy6 months ago

Waking up at 5 AM often signifies a perfect time for a rejuvenating walk, unless it's the midst of a severe winter. Yet, the present times seem to be steering away from that ideal scenario, especially as the season transitions into spring, and daylight extends its reach.

Reflecting on a chilly day from the past, a day before the Lunar New Year, it was a time when I ventured out to Daeseong-ri along the Bukhan River cycling road. The memory of that day is vivid, with the biting cold motivating me to explore a route I hadn't taken in a while. However, an unexpected challenge presented itself under the Sincheongyo Bridge – a small stream was frozen, and not realizing this, I slipped and found myself immersed in the icy water.

Since that incident, the enthusiasm for early morning ventures has waned. Consequently, if I find it's around 5 AM when I wake up, I opt to catch a few more hours of sleep, eventually rising around 6:30 AM to embark on a walk as the day begins to brighten.

However, today is different. Instead of opting for additional sleep after waking up at 5 AM, I chose to rise and sit in front of the computer. The reason? To create a post. An early outing is on the agenda today, and realizing the importance of avoiding a haphazard day, I decided to post after returning from my morning walk and breakfast.

Today marks an alumni gathering of my elementary school at a restaurant in Jamsil at 11 AM, specifically at "Jamsil Badahoesang."

Navigating to the venue seems straightforward, familiar with Jamsil and aided by its location in the basement of Suhyup Bank. However, the challenge lies in transportation.

While considering the subway, a hurdle emerges with a New Year's Greeting Ceremony for Gyeonggi Credit Union in Seongnam starting from 3 PM. It's an unmissable event, requiring a quick transition after the alumni gathering. Luckily, Jamsil and Seongnam are in close proximity, taking approximately 30 minutes to an hour by car. Hence, I opted for the car instead of the subway.

However, a dilemma arises – only one car is available at home. Having sold my second car during a period of dedicated walking exercises, a day like today poses a challenge.

Casually mentioning last evening about a possible short trip to Seoul tomorrow, the response was a simple acknowledgment. Yet, soon after, a revelation unfolded – it's a mountain hiking day for my spouse's mountaineering club, and she also needs the car.

From that point, thoughts have been wandering in search of solutions. Using the subway is manageable for going, but the late return poses an issue. Furthermore, the bigger concern is the burden of carrying several boxes of Hemohim. The uncertainty about how to manage this situation lingers in my thoughts.

A friend from a year-end alumni gathering recently received an honorary graduation certificate from elementary school. Despite not graduating together as he transferred to Seoul in the fourth grade, he actively participates in alumni gatherings, even contributing significantly to events at our alma mater.

Unfortunately, I was overseas during this momentous event. Expressing a mix of regret and congratulations, I called him immediately upon returning and congratulated him. As a way to make up for it, I suggested meeting during the upcoming alumni gathering.

And today is that day.

Hence, I have prepared a gift. Along the way to prepare the gift, I realized that considering the alumni gathering, it would be appropriate to acknowledge the hard work of the alumni association president or secretary. Thus, the item I am carrying holds considerable weight.

However, I firmly believe in one truth: every problem, big or small, has a solution. All I need to do is find that solution. If all else fails, carrying the burden may be a solution in itself. Instead of worrying, I'd rather make up my mind, and with that determination, a better solution might reveal itself. That has been the constant in my life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61536.69
ETH 3445.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50