@ Lords, #BRINO Not Quite Cricket. The BRINO Rebellion

in #atlords5 years ago (edited)

00:01

this is a video blog about Brexit

00:06

it’s a video blog about poetry it’s a

00:12

video blog about the Britain of my youth,

00:17

of the culture from which I come and in

00:23

which I grew up. I spent the formative

00:27

years of my life in Oxfordshire I went

00:31

to the Warriner school Bloxham, The Warriner

00:34

school is a comprehensive school, back

00:39

then in the 1970s the Warriner school

00:43

was newly built and we had good facilities.

00:47

Down the road from our school was

00:50

Bloxham College which is a very nice

00:53

public school several of my friends went

00:57

to Bloxham school indeed some were sent

01:02

there from our school for various

01:04

misdemeanours and others came the other

01:07

way. Now, the Oxfordshire of my youth was

01:14

a very different place to today, nowadays there’s

01:17

something called the Chipping Norton

01:18

set, which to an extent always existed. I

01:21

was brought up in a small village called

01:24

Barford St. Michael and just outside the village is a nice house at which, as a

01:34

young man I was

01:37

the gardener for Mrs Stapleton.

01:40

Now the Mitfords used to own or rent Rignall Hall, it was

01:48

built by a Texan oil millionaire and I

01:56

set myself the task that I wanted to buy

01:58

that house, which seemed like an

02:03

unattainable dream but, one which I took

02:05

with me into my later years, I never did

02:09

buy Rignall Hall but what I did do, is I

04f250424255338b8856316e7f7c540ef324da30

02:12

bought the Belmont Estate near Bristol which adjoins Tyntesfield and became an eccentric

02:20

country squire, you’ll find all of this

02:23

my various blogging musings scribblings

02:27

and videoing

02:31

which I’ve put together over the past

02:35

ten years of my self-imposed exile here

02:40

in Sweden, from where I speak today.

In 2016 there was a vote for Brexit and

02:51

the discourse on that vote on all sides

02:56

was my opinion less than honest this

03:02

isn’t a blog about all of that. The

03:05

polarities and the dualities and the

03:10

sophistry that accompanies it.

This is a

03:13

blog about my youth and about cricket. I

03:17

played village cricket for Bloxham and

03:23

when I left Oxfordshire in my 16th year

03:27

so this is going back now to 1980 after

03:32

the end of school and doing my O

03:34

levels my family moved to West Germany

03:39

as it was then my father worked for the

03:41

government and among other things he

03:45

looked after the training ranges at

03:50

Saltau for instance and many of my

03:53

friends have been in the military now

04:01

why is that important it’s important

04:07

because that last summer was a formative

04:09

summer for me I attended the first

04:13

Fairport Convention concert which is now

04:16

quite a large thing and now quite well-known

04:18

but then the first one was held in

04:21

Broughton castle and I remember Fairport

04:23

Convention playing their famous song

04:28

meet on the ledge

and here we are on the

04:31

dawn of #BRINO

04:34

Brexit in name only and it’s been

04:39

presented as a ledge of some sort.

04:43

I’ve cast my mind back, I’m a poet you see.

when I

04:49

moved to Germany which was for a second

04:52

time in 1980 the first time my first

04:55

wife heard me speak was reading

04:59

a passage from the famous book about an

Oxfordshire r childhood cider with

05:08

Rosie my five years in Oxfordshire gave

05:15

me an Oxfordshire accent and my head of

05:18

sixth-form at the Kent School Rheindahlen

05:23

05:24

the military boarding school and He, Mr Harris,

05:26

felt it would be amusing for him

05:29

and the other staff, that I should read

05:31

this in my Oxfordshire accent and my first

05:35

wife thought I was the best actor she’d

05:38

ever heard but of course, I was just

05:39

speaking in my then accent.

Now playing

05:45

village cricket that last summer back in

05:48

1980 I remember playing Sibford Gower now

05:52

Sibford is the location of another

05:55

wonderful school the friends’ school in

05:58

Sibford and it’s a beautiful cricket

06:02

ground at the friends’ school with a

06:05

wonderful backdrop I used to play wicket

06:07

keeper in those days and we had

06:12

a wonderful afternoon of cricket with all

06:17

of the dramas and wonderful moments

06:23

that happens in a village cricket match

download (25)

06:25

with some local rivalry and after the

06:29

match we went to the bishops Blais pub

06:32

which is a beautiful pub if you ever get

06:35

the chance to visit and during the

06:38

summer in those days they used to have

06:40

concerts or gigs and there was a

06:44

guy with an Ovation guitar singing Bob

06:49

Dylan songs and I remember that afternoon and others there, with

06:55

great fondness and that’s the the

07:00

background to a Britain an Oxfordshire

07:05

adolescence and an education

07:12

outside of the Warriner school outside

07:15

of friendships with those who had

07:23

greater privilege than I but I felt very

07:27

privileged to have

07:30

enjoyed the childhood and education

07:34

which I got at the Warriner school.

But too

07:38

cricket and poetry this morning I was

07:49

reading a

07:56

a poem

07:59

I’m just clicking through my screen here

08:01

because I’ve been working on various

08:03

things cropped up in my studies and

08:09

small now I’m an early riser

08:19

with me

08:40

let’s just get

08:52

to where I want to go

09:09

because social media figures in this

09:13

stream of consciousness

09:22

the memory hole works both ways it’s

09:25

like the white Queens memory

09:39

so here we are this admin question

09:43

which has cropped up on the Green Party

09:46

blog partly directed at my habit of

09:51

preserving conversations before they

09:53

disappear into the memory hole

10:08

to which I made this contribution the

10:13

Hound of heaven

10:32

No

10:35

the hounds of heaven on… The Hound of

10:37

heaven is a poem by Frances Thompson

10:39

there’s a beautiful poem and I suggest

10:42

you read it I will put the link in the

10:43

description to this video but Francis

10:48

Thompson was an interesting chap he had

10:52

been a medical student following his

10:55

father into the medical profession but

10:59

left that profession to pursue a

11:02

vocation as a poet and I was reading

11:09

an essay he did on Shelley earlier this

11:14

morning but he wrote another poem which

11:20

is the poem I’m going to read now

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cricket_poetry#At_Lord’s

AT LORD’S[EDIT]
Francis Thompson wrote the poem, “At Lord’s”:

(https://cdn.steemitimages.com/DQmV6jZ8NbgeiDd9pwfXoYkJjwF6STzsZyDrjyU23by3qHj/images%20(56).jpeg)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cricket_poetry#At_Lord's

At Lord's[edit]
Francis Thompson wrote the poem, "At Lord's":
It is little I repair to the matches of the Southron folk,
Though my own red roses there may blow;
It is little I repair to the matches of the Southron folk,
Though the red roses crest the caps, I know.
For the field is full of shades as I near a shadowy coast,
And a ghostly batsman plays to the bowling of a ghost,
And I look through my tears on a soundless-clapping host
As the run stealers flicker to and fro,
To and fro:
O my Hornby and my Barlow long ago!
It's Glo'ster coming North, the irresistible,
The Shire of the Graces, long ago!
It's Gloucestershire up North, the irresistible,
And new-risen Lancashire the foe!
A Shire so young that has scarce impressed its traces,
Ah, how shall it stand before all-resistless Graces ?
O, little red rose, their bats are as maces
To beat thee down, this summer long ago!
This day of seventy-eight they are come up north against thee
This day of seventy-eight long ago!
The champion of the centuries, he cometh up against thee,
With his brethren, every one a famous foe!
The long-whiskered Doctor, that laugheth the rules to scorn,
While the bowler, pitched against him, bans the day he was born;
And G.F. with his science makes the fairest length forlorn;
They are come from the West to work thee woe!
It is little I repair to the matches of the Southron folk,
Though my own red roses there may blow;
It is little I repair to the matches of the Southron folk,
Though the red roses crest the caps, I know.
For the field is full of shades as I near a shadowy coast,
And a ghostly batsman plays to the bowling of a ghost,
And I look through my tears on a soundless-clapping host
As the run stealers flicker to and fro,
To and fro:
O my Hornby and my Barlow long ago!
Not long before his death and long after he had watched Hornby and Barlow bat at Old Trafford, Thompson was invited to watch Lancashire play Middlesex at Lord's. As the day of the match grew closer, Thompson became increasingly nostalgic. At the end, he did not go for the match, but sat at home and wrote "At Lord's". The original match in 1878 ended in a draw, with Gloucestershire needing 111 to win with five wickets in hand, Grace 58* [1]
The first stanza of the poem has contributed the titles of at least three books on cricket:
• G. D. Martineau's The field is full of shades [2]
• Eric Midwinter's history of Lancashire cricket Red roses crest the caps [3]
• R. H. Young's Field Full of Shades. A personal history of Claverham (Yatton) Cricket Club.
The first stanza is also quoted in full by Count Bronowsky in Paul Scott's Raj Quartet novel The Day of the Scorpion.
Punch on William Scotton[edit]
The satirical magazine Punch printed the following poem following a particularly slow and boring innings by William Scotton. It mimicked Tennyson's famous "Break, break, break".
Block, block, block
At the foot of thy wicket, O Scotton!
And I would that my tongue would utter
My boredom. You won't put the pot on!
Oh, nice for the bowler, my boy,
That each ball like a barndoor you play!
Oh, nice for yourself, I suppose,
That you stick at the wicket all day!
And the clock's slow hands go on,
And you still keep up your sticks;
But oh! for the lift of a smiting hand,
And the sound of a swipe for six!
Block, block, block,
At the foot of thy wicket, ah do!
But one hour of Grace or Walter Read
Were worth a week of you!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?list=PLBXBmZcJbX0yK9Q0eNfmf_e97Q-_CQdK1&v=gToj6SLWz8Q&fbclid=IwAR2AegPv_RyLvJ5-28J1q9QvfYzIw73UduUkExzv0LSUAIYy8z3YyIuWZxA

https://longhairedmusings.wordpress.com/2011/05/10/celtic-baards-speak-out/

https://longhairedmusings.wordpress.com/2016/11/24/overlooked-and-unelected-a-poem-for-the-unappreciated/

https://longhairedmusings.wordpress.com/2019/02/07/when-the-time-comes/

https://longhairedmusings.wordpress.com/2017/03/28/globalisation-un-entangled-a-found-poem-cipher-of-globalism/

https://longhairedmusings.wordpress.com/2017/07/27/ceterum-censeo-carthaginem-esse-delendam-nihil-sub-sole-novum/
https://longhairedmusings.wordpress.com/2017/03/26/on-the-present-discontents-burke-opined-conquest-of-dough/

https://longhairedmusings.wordpress.com/2016/06/26/the-stagnation-of-social-technologies-post-brexit-anxiety-elexir/

http://www.isreview.org/issues/46/shelley.shtml
Shelley, by Francis Thompson

http://www.gutenberg.org/files/1336/1336-h/1336-h.htm

How on earth are the Chancellor and the Governor of the Bank of England, commending the Hard ECU as they strive to, to be taken as serious participants in the debate against that kind of background noise? I believe that both the Chancellor and the Governor are cricketing enthusiasts, so I hope that there is no monopoly of cricketing metaphors. It is rather like sending your opening batsmen to the crease only for them to find, the moment the first balls are bowled, that their bats have been broken before the game by the team captain.

Margaret Thatcher: Yes, the Commission does want to increase its powers. Yes, it is a non-elected body and I do not want the Commission to increase its powers at the expense of the House, so of course we are differing. Of course…

The President of the Commission, Mr. Delors, said at a press conference the other day that he wanted the European Parliament to be the democratic body of the Community, he wanted the Commission to be the Executive and he wanted the Council of Ministers to be the Senate. No. No. No.

Or…. or…..or…..

Perhaps the Labour party would give all those things up easily. Perhaps it would agree to a single currency, to total abolition of the pound sterling. Perhaps, being totally incompetent with monetary matters, they’d be only too delighted to hand over full responsibility as they did to the IMF, to a central bank. The fact is they have no competence on money and no competence on the economy—so, yes, the right hon. Gentleman would be glad to hand it all over. What is the point in trying to get elected to Parliament only to hand over your sterling and the powers of this House to Europe?

May 9, 2017
ON LANGUAGE, OPPRESSION AND POLITICAL CORRECTNESS. THE BAARDS OF WALES. IMRE KALANYOS , ARANY JÁNOS,SUJATA BHATT
May 09, 2017
ON LANGUAGE, OPPRESSION AND POLITICAL CORRECTNESS. THE BAARDS OF WALES. IMRE KALANYOS , ARANY JÁNOS,SUJATA BHATT

Facebook does have its uses, it’s a curious Memory Hole glitch that reminds one of what so easily slips into the memory hole. Ordinarily, it is that very memory hole that is the genius of Facebook, for the powers that be. Every so often as today it scores a wonderful own goal.
In this Post, I revisit a poem which was inspired by a Hungarian Epic Poem from one of that countries´ most celebrated literary sons. Another is surely Imre Kalynos. Who with his memory of growing up in Stalin’s Russia he delivers this is a wonderful piece of writing. It overbrims with wisdom and lessons for the art of living.

ROGER LEWIS SHARED A MEMORY.
42 mins ·
6 Years Ago
See Your Memories

Roger Lewis
May 9, 2011 ·
Our links with the past are more powerful than we know particularly our connection with the land and Nature. Our connection is still deep within all of us I believe and this short story about what the Baards of Wales meant to one Hungarian gypsy that emigrated to America Squares an eternal circle of which we all yearn for.

In the Elementary Scool of gordisa (short story) by Imre Kalanyos on AuthorsDen
In the Elementary Scool of gordisa
AUTHORSDEN.COM

LikeShow more reactions
Comment

Share

CELTIC BAARDS SPEAK OUT.
And the Baards of wales would not give praises to the conquering Edward,
instead, they spoke words of truth in poem and song made insolence by violence of the Crown and they were burnt at the stake for the truth they Spake.

What principality this that burns its priests for speaking truth against the tyrant.
The Baards of Cymru Eire Cornwall Bretagne, Syntagma & St Pauls reach out to us across the energy of reincarnated spirit and language Past Heroes deeds and words emulated to assuage

As once the tyrant Tribute sought
These new Caesars take all yet offer nought
once more we offer Insolence in Poetry Song rhyme and reason to tell the truth, that’s painted Treason.

Original Poem By Roger Lewis.
After. Arany János’ masterpiece.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Bard…

Arany János was Hungary’s greatest epic poet and wrote this poem shortly after the visit of Austrian Emperor Franz Joseph to Hungary following defeat in the 1848-49 revolution war. Originally intended to be a poem to praise the Emperor, Arany, Janos used the story that King Edward I of England had 500 baards executed after his conquest of Wales in 1277. The poem is set in Montgomery mid-Wales.

”Tierra y Libertad”

The extract below is but an hors d’oeuvre, To a sumptuous banquet that is the whole piece at the link.

In the Elementary Scool of gordisa by Imre Kalanyos Friday, August 03, 2007 Rated “G” by the Author.

´´ I did not understand how the people of Sívó could be Gypsies. Due to the discrimination they were subjected to however, I knew that within the Hungarian society, my community, like the Gypsies, was placed in a social stratum defined by the color of their skin. It was then that it became clear to me that the Hungarians called my villagers Gypsies for the same reason the ancient Greeks called the rest of the world Barbarians.´´

“Poems connected me to a world beyond my own. It was from poems that I learned a history that was not taught in my school. Poems made me aware of human feelings that were always part of human history but rarely revealed in the history books. One such poem was “The Bards of Wales” written by Arany János (John Gold). In the poem, the poet gave me a view on the Welsh people’s acceptance of their country’s annexation by King Edward. The poem, as I understood it, was a reflection of the feelings of the bards. In the thirteenth century, after conquering Wales, Edward I traveled on horseback throughout the country to assess what his gains were. During his travel, he ordered the bards to praise him in their poems. Some five hundred bards, one by one, were burned at the stake because they cursed him instead of praising him. It was that poem that made me understand how Hungarians felt about the Russian occupation of their country. From the poem, I learned that human feelings are part of ongoing history and that they cannot be dictated. It was from “The Bards of Wales” that I learned a universal truth: the truth that neither kings nor dictators or tyrants can dictate human feelings. I loved poems. They instilled in me a belief—a dream without which life had no meaning. From my literal understanding of Ady Endre’s poem titled “From the Rill to the Ocean,” I learned that to want is the door to possibilities; to want is human, and that one’s will make dreams come true . I was in the fourth grade when I memorized Ady’s poem.
I memorized it because it depicted the environment in which I was living and the conditions I hoped to climb out of.” ……
“Throughout my life in Hungary, it was Ady’s poem that kept my hopes alive. It was the compelling factor in my determination to leave the rill in the hopes of reaching the saint, the big Ocean. ”

On Language and oppression

Another favourite of mine is.

A DIFFERENT HISTORY
Picture
A poem from her book ‘Brunizem’ published in 1986
BIOGRAPHY
Sujata Bhatt is an Indian poet and native speaker of Gujarati (the language native to the west Indian region of Gujarat) born on the 6th of May 1956 in Ahmedabad and brought up in Pune until her family immigrated to the United States in 1968. Now residing in Bremen, Germany with her daughter and husband, she now works as a freelance writer and translates works of Gujarat poetry into English. Recognised as a distinctive voice in contemporary poetry, Bhatt has won many prestigious awards for her work.

Bhatt describes her childhood in India as “the deepest layer of my identity”. Even though she has said that she feels an immense amount of pride and love towards her mother tongue and her culture, Bhatt mainly speaks and writes in English.


0046702273052
skype: rogerglewis
Skype telephone number +46406931188
Portfolio of on line Profiles( Go on be Nosy ) CLICK HERE PLEASE
#ConquestofDough
PUBLISHED BY ROGERGLEWIS

https://about.me/rogerlewis Looking for a Job either in Sweden or UK. Freelance, startups, will turń my hand to anything.
View all posts by rogerglewis

download (25).jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00