You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Welcome Atheist Republic to Steem!

in #atheistrepublic5 years ago (edited)

Lol this will be interesting... there are lots of folks who follow some kind of church-like account here on Steem, I'll be getting ready my popcorns.

Edited: I followed them but I was wondering, can they claim account tickets with the RC from the SP you delegated to them? If so how many? Considering their huge following base, just onboarding 1% of them will require thousands of new accounts.

Sort:  

Lol this will be interesting... there are lots of folks who follow some kind of church-like account here on Steem, I'll be getting ready my popcorns.

It might increase engagement on Steem since there may be debates on @steemit now.

It surely will increase engagement, as for debating I really don't know... Atheists and religious people don't get along that well.

I think it also depends on the atheist and the "religious" person.

Oh, don't get me wrong... I don't have any stand against any religion, I have nothing that drives me to support one either. It's just I have read several hundreds of debates about this subject and barely 5% of them ended without any form of conflict... I think cuz on the deep end religion is not about reason is about faith, and peoples feelings and experience is something untransferable (so far).

I personally don't think religion is about faith as much as people think it is.

I think religion is about truth since people have faith in what they believe because they think it is true.

In that sense, I think atheists and theists will ultimately arrive at the same conclusions, so long as they seek seriously enough and long enough.


Having said that, I think atheists tend to explain things from a 2nd or 3rd person perspective and the theists who add value, are most likely explaining things from a 1st person perspective.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is an interesting approach, but at the same time might be the reason about why while on debates is so difficult to reach a midpoint. Some people think that if something as the truth exist is unique, therefore most try to prove that their ideas are the ones which are true, hence divergent ideas are false.

It can also be a matter of perspective where any sentence or group of words can be realized as true or false depending on the way it is interpreted or explained 👍

Thank you for sharing your thoughts @joelsegovia 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98