An Atheist Visits Answers in Genesis: What Is the Best Argument for the Existence of God? Part one

in #atheism5 years ago

Hello, ducklings!

Recently, I stumbled across a fairly popular site called "Answers in Genesis" while looking for good arguments for the Christian god. While reading their article, I noticed some pretty outrageous claims about atheists and forwarding many misconceptions. I felt that it would be a shame to not voice my opinion on the matter, as my first Steemit post.

Here is the link to their article: https://answersingenesis.org/is-god-real/what-is-the-best-argument-for-the-existence-of-god/

Let's begin!

"God Doesn’t Believe in Atheists
The Bible teaches that atheists are not really atheists. That is, those who profess to be atheists do ultimately believe in God in their heart-of-hearts. The Bible teaches that everyone knows God, because God has revealed Himself to all (Romans 1:19). In fact, the Bible tells us that God’s existence is so obvious that anyone who suppresses this truth is “without excuse” (Romans 1:20). The atheist denies with his lips what he knows in his heart. But if they know God, then why do atheists claim that they do not believe in God?"

Simply put, citing the bible to prove your point as a Christian, to an Athiest is circular reasoning. I understand the point that they are attempting to make here, but the fallacy cannot go unrecognized. If you don't understand why this is faulty reasoning, allow me to demonstrate: Let's look at three premises.

A) I never lie
B) I shall propose that I am God
C) Therefore I am God

When put in simple terms, it is incredibly easy to see why this reasoning is fallacious.

Secondly, I would like to address The quote "The Bible teaches that everyone knows God, because God has revealed Himself to all". What Is the meaning of reveal in this sentence? Miracles? I would be more than happy to find one that can't be explained naturally, though it seems that one doesn't exist. Maybe are referring to feeling like he is there? But what about the countless individuals that are raised secular, without any feeling that there is a god or those who believe in a different god to your own? Maybe toast that kind of looks like something significant? Obviously, I'm kidding but it's easy to see how glancing over these minor details, could lead us to believe what they are saying, but of course, it is preposterous.

The second part of their point:

"The answer may be found in Romans 1:18. God is angry at unbelievers for their wickedness. And an all-powerful, all-knowing God who is angry at you is a terrifying prospect. So even though many atheists might claim that they are neutral, objective observers, and that their disbelief in God is purely rational, in reality, they are strongly motivated to reject the biblical God who is rightly angry with them. So they suppress that truth in unrighteousness. They convince themselves that they do not believe in God.2 The atheist is intellectually schizophrenic—believing in God, but believing that he does not believe in God.3"

Let us suppose that as an atheist I did trick myself into not believing. Why would I do so? One could say that I might in order to sin more, but the majority of us are incredibly moral. In fact, according to some statistics we are among the lowest population in prisons. And as far as us being "intellectually schizophrenic" goes, I don't see the need for petty ad hominem, but all insults aside I believe it is clear why this is obviously false.

Since there is so much to unpack in this article, I will break it into multiple parts as a series. If you'd like a full-blown series covering this, and many more articles by Answers in Genesis, please let me know by upvoting and commenting on this post. I look forward to seeing your feedback.

-Squishey

Sort:  

A lot of atheists are simply people that hate God and refuse to accept his existence. How can you hate the Tooth Fairy or Santa Claus if they don't exist but they hate God because they know he exists.

Atheists aren't moral. They just define their own morality so lying and engaging in sex outside of marriage aren't things they say are wrong.

For me, God exists but I do not believe what they tell us churches. Humanity is my religion!

Anyways, I am running an initiative to support new users with Steem Power such that they can have more freedom to engage and interact with others. You can apply in this post;

https://steemit.com/giveaway/@akomoajong/steem-power-giveaway-win-up-to-100sp-for-4-weeks-13

Have you heard of Partiko and Actifit?

Partiko is a mobile app that rewards users for every comment, upvote and post made through the app. You can start earning with partiko like I'm doing. First, download the app;

https://partiko.app/referral/akomoajong

Also, start earning with actifit by installing the app and post your daily fitness level acquired. Download the app;

Android: http://bit.ly/2CLWDqT

iOS: http://bit.ly/actifit-ios

I will support you with 15SP for a week or more once you login on one of those two dApps.

You can equally reach out to me for help or assistance at the Steem terminal discord server which aims at helping new Steemians;

https://discord.gg/Tsd79m3

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @squishytheduck! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58990.94
ETH 2670.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44