Sort:  

As a former teacher, I completely agree with you.

In a multicultural society - to not teach world religion is to cripple a child. Isn't that the first rule of writing? Know your audience? If you want to spend your whole life with people that look, talk and smell like you maybe its a good idea. People with religious beliefs make up 80-90% of the worlds population - what on earth would be your reasoning in denying children the education they need to succeed on this planet?

I teach 4th and 5th grade first of all, so what I am willing or able to teach as far as religious based creationism is limited. I do teach about other cultures, customs, and holidays, in fact thats a huge part of our social studies. These teachings include wars or invasions that have been based on religious views. I am in no way closed minded to the rest of the world or think that my students should be kept in some sort of bubble. However, as a teacher there is a fine line that we have to walk. Not all parents are open to any type of religion being taught, and at times I have had parents opt their children out of any learning of other cultures other than their own.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55758.52
ETH 2348.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31