You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I've pledged to myself to start speaking out on what I believe in!

in #atheism6 years ago

Not a vegan myself, but I'm an atheist.
I've heard a lot of criticism about veganism by atheists in the past, and never really understood that. Apparently, a lot of veganism theory depends on pseudoscience?
I don't know, but you seem to be a pretty levelheaded person. I've got a vegetarian girlfriend, you people just seem to eat plants instead of animal products, not really something that one can truly disprove of, right?
Glad to see another atheist here :)
Peace!

Sort:  

Hi there! Thanks for getting in touch! Funny you mention that criticism from atheists... I think the criticisms extend from a right wing bias from my observations. They love to hammer the lefty liberals, a lot of whom take so many issues and go super extreme in their militant approach to whatever has hurt their feelings that week, in some instances this is more anti-meat/dairy than it is pro-vegan.

Me, well, I've just done a lot of research, understand the environmental impacts, health impacts etc., and came to my own conclusion that I want to live longer, be healthier, do my bit for the environment, and stop supporting the inhumane and corrupt industry behind it all. The studies are there in abundance now, not only the negative impacts of an omnivore diet, but also the benefits of a vegan lifestyle. It is common knowledge that processed meat is a type 1 carcinogen, red meat a type 2. See for yourself on the World Health Organisation website. The links between heart disease or diabetes with a diet full of meat and dairy are now widely published in many studies.

The question I often ask to people is, would you eat meat if there were plant based alternatives that tasted exactly the same as meat, had the same texture as meat, etc.? If not, then I seriously question your morality and sanity, when the only differentiator in the above instance is the dead animal flesh. Not so appealing.

Anyway, I look forward to talking further.
Peace, always,
G.A.V.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59