Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest Entry - The Forgotten Kayak

I snapped this photo while I was out skiing today. I've passes this old barn a lot over the last few years while I'm out skiing or snowshoeing during the winter. Not so much in the summer, because it's not as easy to walk through farmer's fields when there is actual food growing in them.

Anyway, I remembered I saw @customnature post a reminder about the #aswcontest and I thought this old kayak would make a great entry inside this barely standing barn. I often wonder the story behind that old thing. How did it get way out in the middle of the fields? How long has it been there? Will it ever see the water again?

20180224_145056_HDR-1.png

The kayak never had all that wood piling up on it until this year. The old barn is slowly falling down around this kayak and it will eventually be buried in old timbers and sheet metal roofing after another 2 or 3 years I bet. I noticed this year the beam in the top right corner of the photo is broken in two near the door so it's really just a matter of time.

Sort:  

Is that thing sound? Maybe you should ask if you can snag it if they don't want it. It'd be a shame for it to go to waste.

I also live in a farming community, and love walking through the area during the winter. It looks so different; so desolate. Nice post!

I was thinking about that but i already have two kayaks and a sailboat. If i took it, it would just get it closer to the garbage when i realize i don't have time to fix it.

Sad thing to see for sure. Glad to see you are on the mend. Too bad someone wouldn't rescue that kayak.

That thing looks like an old school classic. Old-time kayakers get sentimental over such things. If you post that pic to some kayak clubs anywhere close to there, someone might offer to buy it. ...provided the owners would let you have it.

awesome man!

a nice photo, a photo that shows a very deep sadness, and very in sayangkan became like that, this image is also not just a picture, but the picture is talked about a lot of things, salute. @stephen.king989

Wow .. It really looks old down there ,nice one on the picture .. Wishing you all the best in your entry

With your post, I feel a very happy to ski even though I have never played before

i really love skiing.. But in out country the weather not get cold so much,😊

Very nice photography @stephen.king989.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68530.21
ETH 2695.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72