This Old Cabin On The Bluff 🏡 Abandoned Shit Contest @customnature

in #aswcontest6 years ago (edited)

shasta2017jan23rd47oldcabin8io.jpg

🔺 Abandoned Shit House Entry 🔺
Color photo taken just b4 dark tonight
Near Clam Gulch Alaska.
She's 4 sale! Comes with a car!

shasta2017jan23rd47oldcabin8blkwht8io.jpg

🔺 Black & White 🔻 NegativePhotography

shasta2017jan23rd47oldcabin8negative8io.jpg

@shasta

This Old Cabin On The Bluff

Old cabin on the bluff, have you had enough?
The long winters you have seen with every
beam you seem to last, a true blast from
the past.

You have seen your share of winters, had
awesome summers and sunsets, even a
few great volcanic explosions, Mt Redoubt,
Iliamna, Augustine and Spurr oh my.

Covered in ash, blanketed
in snow, surrounded with fireweeds.
You have seen much. What families have
lived here I know not, can only wonder
at the thought,.

Just last night this old cabin survived
a 8.2 earthquake and tsunami threat.

Clicking the photo makes it bigger
Click again zooms them in

How 2 make link 2 the bigger pictures

shasta47io1grey7bar.png

Category • aswcontest Abandoned House

Camera • Phone G7 Samsung

Location • Clam Gulch Alaska

shasta47io2grey7bar.png

A very cool contest @customnature 👍
This Weeks Abandoned Shit Theme 🏡 Houses

shasta47io3grey7bar.png

Photos and Words by me @shasta

January 24th 2018
12:21 AM Alaska UTC Time
Night & Day Map
Weather Maps Venusky

Take Good Care Everyone
Enjoy ❤ღ And Stay Awesome

shasta47io0grey7bar.png

Sort:  

I always like your photos and your imagination @shasta!

Thank very much @kus-knee!!
Your words mean a lot to me very encouraging!
and this lady is honored :-)

I can do pictures, but poetry escapes me.

I'm not sure where that poetry came from lol
am not much of a writer or poet and I know it hehe
Really, it even amazed me!
Thank you @manorvillemike for the compliment :-)

Fix the roof and I might think about it in the spring ;-)

lol it has really great sunset views!
Not looked it up but bet it is a lot of
steem for that view 💨

Imagine the stories it could tell! Great shot...And just curious, how much?

If walls could talk eh, perhaps some of the vibration waves
are embedded in the logs? ;-) I'm curious also how much $
Most lots on the bluff with that awesome view are costly, like
200.000 thou. with or without dilapidated structures lol
I found another similar cabin today, tho not as old looking
with also a 4 sale sign. I might give them a call and find out!!

Just curious! Mostly wondered what property values are like up there.

Prices can vary greatly depending where and
what, it's not really cheap, almost Calif prices.
But then there are bargains sometimes lol
Alaska MLS Homer.
To compare some other cities type in Anchorage or
Kenai. This cabin is near Clam Gulch, tho I don't
see it listed :-)

It was my dream in the late 60's. Some of my friends ended up going, but it didn't work out for me. Love, marriage, family changed where life took me.

Life can sure do that :-)
The 60's would of been a great time to of got
some land up here, ah the 60's and 70's were
nice years. Are you thinking about perhaps
still moving here? Many have snowbird homes,
come up for the summers only. I'm originally
from California.

It is so fun to dream about, but health concerns keep me close to my handicap accessible house these days. But I can dream!

I think the picture came out nice, it is a gloomy kind of look for a gloomy kind of day. I think the poem really caps off the picture and give a real sense of what the cabin has been through. It does make one stop and think, "if these walls could talk" kind of thing. What would they say, would it have happy stories of how it survived, or sad stories of how it has been treated. One does wonder.

Thank you very much @bashadow
I was thinking that too, if walls could talk eh!
I would think they were good times and hard
times, struggles and pleasures :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55