ASW Contest #24 "Old Wood"- Grave Markers

in #aswcontest5 years ago

Hello again Steemians! I am happy to be back for my third week on the Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest!

My entry for this week's "Old Wood" theme are pictures I took a few years back exploring Nevada's Great Basin

Screenshot_2018-11-04-18-26-14.png

These grave markers are near the old mining town of Cherry Creek, Nevada, which today has a small population of people that have lived here for generations

Screenshot_2018-11-04-19-09-42.png

This is along the Pony Express Route. I would imagine these grave markers would have to be from that time. There are a number of cemeteries from old mining towns in the Great Basin area that date back to the mid-1800's

A feeling of peace comes over me everytime I visit an old graveyard. May seem strange to some but to me it makes perfect sense. Looking down a windswept valley like this, with snow covered mountains in the distance instills a calm that I often think back to and draw from its powerful energies!!!!

Thanks to everyone who has particpated, upvoted and resteemed entries this week!!!
And a special thanks to @customnature for bringing back this contest and making it fun!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01