They say your bathroom is the safest place during a hurricane...

in #aswcontest6 years ago

This is my second entry for the ASW (Abandoned Shit Weekly) competition, hosted by @customnature.
The topic of this week is abandoned houses. Well I think my entry will have the definition of an abandoned house ;)

Screenshot_20180126-140810.jpg

Almost everyday I pass this house on my way to beach, where I go to walk my dog. Ever since hurricane Irma passed it has been in exactly the same way, and I always have to smile at this house (even though it is super sad of course)

What people will say to you when you talk about major hurricanes, is that when you are in a storm, and you think your house will collapse, you should go to the bathroom. That is most likely the safest place to go because it usually doesnt have too much windows, and is often centered in your house.

Well if you look at this house, the only thing still standing is the bathroom. Even though it is from wood, you still see the shower curtain hanging and the toilet pot is still inside. The rest of the house has falling into shambles and has been left ever since.

Imagine, this pile of wood on some concrete fundamentals, were somebodies house until a couple of months ago

Sort:  

Well in my country there are no Hurricanes, I have never gone through a situation like that, but the truth must be a whole truth. When I go through some similar situation, I'll go directly to my bathroom. Very good... @karinxxl

Yeah only with hurricanes he!! If you have an earthquake you must stand in a door opening or go outside.

Every natural disaster has its manual how to handle hahahah

Hahaha I can imagine!

Makes you wonder what happened to the occupants, and what they're doing now.

Cool photo, but kind of sad too.

exactly, everybody talks about hurricane aftermath most likely, but I had more than 1 friends hiding in the bathroom or in a closet, with a matras on top of them from protect them flying debris...

just think about that, on how that experience would be......

oh my gosh you cant even imagine that this is the only part still standing. really sad .. I imagine that you are in there during the hurricane, afterwards opening the door and you are standing outside instead of in your house..

exactly...when you come out of you hiding spot...what you see then...

my experience was so much less worse, compared to the stories of lots of friends that i heard

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71639.05
ETH 3841.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49