You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NEW Theme! Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest - №.9 - 'Graveyards!' #aswcontest

in #aswcontest6 years ago (edited)

This isn't a great photo but I have to go with this one as it has the best story attached to it. We had been out all day with our family, having some random family adventures and I suggested, lets drop into the cemetery on the way home. This is the cemetery at Toowong in Brisbane, QLD, Australia. It's a really big cemetery, it was Brisbane's main cemetery once. It was opened in 1875 but some burials had taken place from 1871. So it's a really old cemetery too! it's built on a fairly good sized hill and it gets amazing city views, so it's nice to walk around there and appreciate the city. We just wandered through, reading some of the stones and of course because it was at night, it was dark and felt a little spookier maybe. I was taking photos... for you know... just in case. I thought it would be cool if something explainable showed up.

So all was good... UNTIL... my husband decides to stand on this grave site so he could read the stones. Now I don't go near them... I certainly won't walk over one, even if it is a lawn plot. I always make sure I go around. Not him... he didn't think anything of it. Well next thing he fell through!!! Like look at this thing... nothing about it looks sturdy. Not that I would even if it did, I would just NEVER do that. Well... didn't he get the fright of his life!! He does believe in the after life... spirits and everything that goes along with that, so he was really freaked out!! Traumatised even! It freaked him out for ages afterwards and he'd never contimplate ever going back again. Just so you know... he didn't just fall a little... it was a lot, he fell through up to his shins!

This photo was taken before he fell through, there was no photo taking opportunities after that happened, he couldn't get out of there quick enough!

IMG_005v1.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13