Sort:  

Your title got me, and now I've got Dire Straits stuck in my head! :P
I think I've given up on trying to capture celestial events. I've lived in Florida for 4 years and every time something cool is going on in the sky; fresh batteries in the camera, tripod at the ready - it's overcast or storming. sigh So I enjoy everyone else's photos :D

Ha ha tell me about it. I was all geared up for the eclipse the other day and then bam! Solid cloud cover. So I watched the live feed from NASA.
I used to play guitar in a band years ago and we covered Dire straits and I felt like I was in dire straits taking these photos lol.
Tonights photos came out so much better. :)

@molometer I still can't beleive that there were shot at night.You have done very amazing work.Your photos are quite impresive.Thanks for sharing such wonderful pics.keep it up.

Thank you Rohit, the camera is the real star here :) It can do amazing things.

Did you get these results through only long exposure? Is it the nearly full moon that makes them seem like day compared to your other astrophotography?

Yes as I mentioned in the post.

"A lot of the light in these photos is coming from an almost full Moon off to the right of the images"

That combined with a wide open aperture and a high ISO. :)

The picture below “It looks like dawn!” Looks like a skeleton chilling on the rooftops in the sky. Awesome photos.

Now you mention it. I can actually see the skeleton laid back in the clouds. Well spotted inc :)

Thanks! You could do something with it around Halloween😎

Great photos @molometer
Try all possible settings, so you see what happens when. How satisfied were you with the noise of iso 3200?
When the moon is gone, you will see that the sky will be much more darker und you are capable to photograph much more stars.

Using the camera at ISO 3200 was interesting and gave this almost daytime effect. The noise gives the images an almost art effect.
I was out again last night and got some cleaner images by trying various settings. I will post them tomorrow with a bit of luck. :)

The noise sometimes fits well with the picture and gives it that certain thing.
I'm really looking forward to your pictures :-)

I got a bit excited as I thought I had captured another Perseid Meteoroid but it was not to be. It turned out to be an aeroplane.

I also thought that I had spotted Mars, the red planet but on closer inspection it seems that it is a lens aberration

That's hilarious @molometer.

Keep going. You'll get there in the end! 😁

It tickled me too. Tonights photos are much better. Everything is much clearer and focused. Now I need to get a telescope lol

The journey is the fun part! :)

Its Nibiru! I am sure of it!

Ha ha you are such a wag...wait!
What if you're right!?
Rofl

This post has received a 96.7 % upvote from @boomerang.

Thanks @boomerang much appreciated. Slow night hey?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66524.25
ETH 3616.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81