Sort:  

A good picture @molometer :-)
Congratulations, you have found the Andromeda Galaxy.
The excitement that you explain in your text is that excitement that has pushed me deeper in astrophotography.
I remember exactly when I found the Orion fog for the first time. I was proud and excited. I had something in a photo that you can not see with your naked eyes.
I hope you keep on making astrophotography. It is unbelievable what is hidden in the night sky.
Greetings

You know the weird thing is. The words 'Andromeda Galaxy' kept going through my mind since I found this?
Don't ask me why. I haven't a clue but maybe watching Sir Patrick Moore for so long on the TV show 'The sky at night' I guess something sunk it.
Your image of Andromeda is stunning.

M31_high.jpg
Image courtesy of @astrophoto.kevin

Thank you so much for confirming my suspicion.
Wow this is real astronomy.

I will be out again tonight trying to get photos of the Perseid meteor shower and some more galaxies.

The Orion fog sounds super exotic. I'll take a good long look tonight.

Sometimes there is this premonition :-)
Thank you very much @molometer but actually, I was here to praise your image and not to get praise for mine :-)

I had a misspelling in my comment before. The AutoCorrect changed "Nebula" to "fog". So everything for me started with the Orion Nebula.
Dependent from the location you are living it might be too early in the year to see it at night. It's more part of the autumn and winter night sky.

As I see in your settings, you have used ISO 400. I think with the Canon 70D you can go until ISO 1600. To reduce the noise in the images you can take more pictures from the same object and stack it.

I keep my fingers crossed, that the Perseids will show a great shower :-)

Your image is spectacular and shows what can be achieved by perseverance, persistence and gear available to us today.

Think of them as bookends :)

In my excitement I forgot that Orion is way to low to observe right now where I am. Cambridgeshire.

The Canon 70D can do 1600 and up to 12800! I'm playing around with the settings and as I learn more the images are getting better.

So far I've been shooting jpg's as I'm still learning what the camera can do.
Next time I'll try HDR and try the stacking method you suggested.

Any suggestion on exposure time as I haven't got any tracking ability? @astrophoto.kevin

"I keep my fingers crossed, that the Perseids will show a great shower :-)"

Me too. Hope I'm ready in time

I can understand why the autocorrect replaced nebula with 'fog'. Both are clouds of gas. That's semantic search for you...dumbing it down just a touch ;)

Thank you very much :-)

I think ISO12800 will be way too much. The noise will very strong. ISO1600 or 3200 would be a good way between low sensitivity and high noise.
You should always shoot in RAW. This will give you much more possibilities while editing your photos. The 70D should do 14bit RAWs, jpg's do only have 8bit. I think especially when you are in a learning process shooting RAW would be the way to go. When the exposure doesn't fit 100% you can get much more out of the RAW, where the jpg may be already useless.

The exposure time depends to the focal length. As a guideline, you can calculate "300 / focal length = exposure time" for APS-C sized sensors. For 50mm focal length this would be 300 / 50 = 6 seconds.
This is not 100% exactly but a good clue.

To photographing the Perseids you should take the smallest focal length that you have. So you can maximize the exposure time and you will have a big field of view.

Sometimes I get crisis because of the autocorrection, even when I'm writing German. :-D

Thank you so much for this info.
It's going to be very useful.

I do have a Sigma 10-20 mm lens which I'll use next time.

So this 10-20 should be 300/10 = 30 wide open?
I'll shoot in raw and try a few different exposure times.

Once I get my head around this cameras functions I'll try some time lapse too ready for the Perseids.

Last time I saw the Perseids it was in 1991 and I was in France. It was amazing.

Darn ottoconnect lol

You're welcome :-)

Yes, you're right. The longest possible exposure time would be around 30 seconds and it should be as wide open as possible.
When I tried the Perseids with the Tokina 11-16, I used an exposure time of 25 seconds.

I have shot with 11mm f2.8 ISO1600 25 seconds.
Unbenannt-2.jpg
This was the best image I've got. I haven't had too much luck. My camera pointed every time to that area with the lowest quantity of Perseids.

A timelapse from the Perseids shower would be pretty cool :-)

Then it's time for a new spectacular "Perseid adventure" :-)

That image looks pretty good. I'd be happy to get something like that :)

I think the time lapse could work out well when I figure it out.

Once I get the exposure right. Just a matter of letting it run for a few hours?
Ha ha not so easy I'm thinking.

I can understand how excited you must be when you take a photograph for yourself like that @molometer.

I bought a telescope for John a few years back and, although I don't look through it too often, I find it so awe inspiring seeing the Moon close up and Venus and Mars!

We went to a talk at The Observatory Science Centre, The Observatory Science Centre about astrophotography and we were both amazed at what photographs are possible with very little equipment from somewhere with as much ambient light as London.

I can't wait until my grandson is old enough to take to some events there. They're great fun!

There is nothing like discovering things for yourself. This was such fun and truly awe inspiring

I have to say that is pretty dang awesome! It makes me wonder if there is life in that galaxy, maybe similar to ours... We may never know. I love looking at a night or day sky, although I admit the night is often prettier.

Statistically there will be 10's of 1'000's of other life forms out there. We just have to go and look.
It's a very exciting thought! I wonder what they look like?

I've always wondered that too.

The night sky is magical and I am thrilled that you shared that with us! I can imagine your excitement when you noticed it!

Seeing something like this that you have taken yourself is pretty amazing.
We are very lucky to live in a time when we have the equipment (cameras) that can give such results.
Glad you liked it Melinda.

The equipment available to us today is pretty incredible!

Congratulations on identifying a galaxy in your pictures!

Thanks @momzillanc it was quite something to behold and now it's been confirmed and named. It's the Andromeda Galaxy. How cool is that?

Yes, I read in astrophoto.kevin’s remarks that it is Andromeda. And, it’s very cool!

I hear you!
I love to stare into the sky too, trying to lock my eyes to one star and trying very hard to observe it. Silly me...

It's the best show on earth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85